Turn off sharing in Windows 2000 Pro

If you're worried about security or just don't feel like sharing, you can turn off file and printer sharing in your Windows 2000 Professional system. It's not a default setting, but you can easily switch it off. Here's how.

By default, Windows 2000 Professional enables file and printer sharing so other users on the network can access shared folders and printers. You can restrict access to those shared resources through the share permissions you assign when you share the resource or through object permissions applied to the resource.

In some situations, you might want to turn off sharing altogether. For example, you might have a concern about security on the LAN and don't want others to have even the possibility of accessing your local resources. Or, if you're connected to the Internet, you should remove file and printer sharing from the TCP/IP protocol to prevent intrusions that could take advantage of available network shares.

To turn off sharing, open the Network And Dial-Up Connections folder, right-click the connection in question, and choose Properties. Deselect the File And Printer Sharing option and click OK. If you're currently sharing resources, those shares will be removed from sharing.

Miss a column?

Check out the Windows 2000 Professional archive, and catch up on all the W2K Pro columns.

Want more Win2K tips and tricks? Automatically sign up for our free Windows 2000 Professional newsletter, delivered each Tuesday!

Editor's Picks