Cloud

What are the considerations when moving to Google apps?

On July 8 at 2 P.M. ET, TechRepublic is hosting a Google-sponsored live event with the IT pros who made the leap to Google Apps at their company. Tune in and get a chance to ask your own questions about how it's working.

The idea of moving to a platform that doesn't come with the expense and administrative difficulties of the big proprietary solutions is a tempting one, but many people would rather stick with what they know than take the risks associated with implementing something new — especially something that relies on the cloud.

If you've toyed with the idea of moving your organization to Google Apps, you might want to tune in to the upcoming TechRepublic Live Webcast: Switching to Google Apps Builds a New Platform for Innovation on July 8 at 2:00 P.M. ET (11:00 AM PT / 6:00 PM GMT). One company of over 500 employees took the leap, moving away from Lotus Notes and Microsoft Exchange to Google Apps.

Join this live TechRepublic Webcast sponsored by Google to hear from Aaron McCarthy, Limbach's IT Director, Christine Leifheit, Team Lead, and Google Apps partner, Cloud Sherpas. Topics will include:

  • Comparing Google Apps to Microsoft Exchange and Lotus Notes/Domino
  • Setting up a pilot to understand full deployment requirements
  • What is required to bridge the needs of a non-tech savvy workforce

By registering to participate in the live event, you'll have the chance to pose your own questions to the people who have already had the experience.

About Selena Frye

Selena has been at TechRepublic since 2002. She is currently a Senior Editor with a background in technical writing, editing, and research. She edits Data Center, Linux and Open Source, Apple in the Enterprise, The Enterprise Cloud, Web Designer, and...

Editor's Picks

Free Newsletters, In your Inbox