Project Management

50 ubergeeks worth following on Twitter

Jay Garmon lists 50 top-shelf geeks to be found on Twitter (in no particular order of awesomeness). A few people listed are Warren Ellis, John Cleese, Wil Wheaton, and John Hodgman.

Below are 50 top-shelf geeks to be found on Twitter, listed in no particular order of awesomeness. Suffice it to say, they're all cooler than me. If you don't know what Twitter is, Jason Hiner explains it here. If you do know what Twitter is, but aren't following these people yet, snap to. There's precious bandwidth and productivity to squander!

  1. Wil Wheaton (@wilw) - Don't call him Wesley Crusher, because he's so much more awesome than that.
  2. Felicia Day (@feliciaday) - Vi from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Creator of The Guild. Gaming goddess.
  3. Scott Kurtz (@pvponline) - Writer/artist of the Web comic PvP.
  4. Tobias Buckell (@tobiasbuckell) - Caribbean-born sci-fi writer exiled to Ohio.
  5. Mary Robinette Kowal (@MaryRobinette) - Puppeteer, voice-actress, and sci-fi writer.
  6. Warren Ellis (@warrenellis) - Profane and ingenious writer of comics, books, TV, and video games.
  7. Phil Plait (@BadAstronomer) - Evangelizing astronomer, educator, and movie science geek.
  8. LeVar Burton (@levarburton) - Actor/educator of Reading Rainbow, Roots, ST: TNG. Technophile.
  9. Jon Favreau (@jon_favreau) - Comedic actor. Director of Elf, Iron Man, and (now) Iron Man 2.
  10. Stephen Fry (@stephenfry) - Sublimely funny British actor, author, and comic.
  11. Agent M (@Agent_M) - Insider blogger for Marvel Comics.
  12. Chris Hardwick (@nerdist) - Musician, comic, actor, and Attack of the Show dude.
  13. FragDolls (@FragDolls) - Hot babes who play video games for a living.
  14. John Cleese (@JohnCleese) - Monty Pythonite and so much more.
  15. John Scalzi (@scalzi) - Snarktacular science-fiction writer and blogger.
  16. Valerie D'Orazio (@ohsuperheroine) - Writer/blogger/activist for women in comics.
  17. Lore Sjöberg (@loresjoberg) - Wired magazine's animator/artist/comic-in-residence.
  18. John Hodgman (@hodgman) - Deadpan nerd-comic, actor, and Daily Show correspondent.
  19. Greg Grunberg (@greggrunberg) - Web fanatic who plays Parkman on Heroes.
  20. TrekMovie.com (@TrekMovie) - The fan Web site for the new Star Trek reboot flick.
  21. Brent Spiner (@BrentSpiner) - Faux-curmudgeon comic who once played Data on ST:TNG.
  22. Neil Gaiman (@neilhimself) - Writer of fantasy comics and prose that get made into major movies.
  23. Penn Jillette (@pennjillette) - The vocal half of comic/magic/activist duo Penn & Teller.
  24. David Hewlett (@dhewlett) - More than just the guy who played Rodney McKay on Stargate: Atlantis.
  25. Martin Sargent (@martinsargent) - Manchild super-nerd from various tech TV shows.
  26. Olivia Munn (@oliviamunn) - The hottie co-host of Attack of the Show.
  27. Scott Beale (@laughingsquid) - Geek-blogger supreme from LaughingSquid.com.
  28. Major Nelson (@majornelson) - Yes, Xbox fanboys, that Major Nelson.
  29. Brea Grant (@breagrant) - Music-lover, actress, and geek known as Daphne from Heroes.
  30. Jeph Jacques (@jephjacques) - Writer/artist behind the Web comic Questionable Content.
  31. Cory Doctorow (@doctorow) - Co-founder of BoingBoing, copyfighter, sci-fi writer, etc.
  32. Robert Bowling (@fourzerotwo) - Gaming blogger and employee at Infinity Ward.
  33. Eddie Izzard (@eddieizzard) - Crossdressing super-nerd British comedian.
  34. Amber Benson (@amber_benson) - Tara from Buffy turned writer/actress/geek.
  35. Jonathan Strahan (@CoodeStreet) - Hugo Award-winning editor of sci-fi anthologies.
  36. John Joseph Adams (@johnjosephadams) - Leading editor and reviewer of sci-fi and fantasy.
  37. Cherie Priest (@cmpriest) - Southern gothic fantasy/horror author exiled to Seattle.
  38. Lar deSouza (@lartist) - Artist for Web comics Looking For Group and Least I Could Do.
  39. MC Frontalot (@mc_frontalot) - Nerdcore rap star.
  40. John Denardo (@sfsignal) - Blogger-in-chief at SFSignal.com.
  41. David Willis (@Shortpacked) - Writer/artist for the toy-collector Web comic Shortpacked.
  42. R. Stevens (@rstevens) - Writer/artist for the pixelated hipster-geek comic Diesel Sweeties.
  43. Dave Zatz (@davezatz) - Consumer technology reviewer and insider.
  44. Jonathan Coulton (@jonathancoulton) - Nerd-pop recording artist.
  45. Rich Johnston (@richjohnston) - Comic book industry's most notorious rumor-monger.
  46. Brian Michael Bendis (@BRIANMBENDIS) - Writer of comic books, notably Ultimate Spider-man.
  47. Jay Lake (@jay_lake) - Writer/editor/blogger of science fiction books.
  48. Rob Corddry (@robcorddry) - Ascerbic nerd comic and actor.
  49. Kevin Smith (@ThatKevinSmith) - Geekish writer/director/actor who gave us Clerks and Dogma.
  50. Paul and Storm (@paulandstorm) - Comedic musician duo with a nerdy flair.

About

Jay Garmon has a vast and terrifying knowledge of all things obscure, obtuse, and irrelevant. One day, he hopes to write science fiction, but for now he'll settle for something stranger — amusing and abusing IT pros. Read his full profile. You can a...

Editor's Picks