General discussion

Any AS400 fans out there?

By richard.gray@kingspanibc. ·
I am currently tendering for an ERP solution for a multi site mixed mode manufacturing org. The solution chosen could run on SCO,NT or AS400. There seems to be no end of people telling me to steer clear of AS400, why?
I'd like to discuss why's and wherefor's of ERP platforms.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

13 total posts (Page 1 of 2)   01 | 02   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by glevin In reply to Any AS400 fans out there?

IBM puts out a tech rag called TCdigest. There was an article listed by DH Brown Assoc; "Comparing Windows NT Server and AS/400 in the Enterprise". This might be of interest if you still need the info.

www.as400.ibm.com/conslt/dhb.htm

Collapse -

The question was auto-closed by TechRepublic

Collapse -

by weinssm In reply to Any AS400 fans out there?

I've been using the AS/400 platform for over ten years and find it difficult to understand why you would run a business on an operating system that crashes regularly (NT). The AS/400 is a great machine and the operating system is as robust as they come.

That being said, the future of the AS/400 itself is in doubt. IBM has been cutting staff and rumours abound concerning its viability in the marketplace. There is new discussion on running UNIX on the AS/400 - it may or may not save the machine from extinction.

Collapse -

Collapse -

by Nate Hoy In reply to Any AS400 fans out there?

I am constantly stunned by the reaction of people to AS/400's. We process most of our business on a single AS/400, and yet everyone is all ga-ga about NT servers. We have almost 100 NT servers and they do less than the work of our single AS/400!
NT is a good server for medium sized workgroups (100 people +-). If you want to run ERP for over 500 people, I would give the AS/400 a look.