General discussion

Certificate Services Windows 2003 Enterprise

By milun ·
Trying to install certificate services on win2003 ent edition will not allow me to check Enterprise root CA-greyed out. I ADS is installed..and yes..i am a member of Enterprise Admin group.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

9 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

Certficate Services W2k3 Enterprise CA

by paulboerefijn In reply to Certificate Services Wind ...

It's an year later, so i don't expect you're waiting for an answer anymore. I had exactly the same problem, i was searching for an week or so, that's long enough to save another some time.

The problem is that you have no Global Catalog server in your Active Directory. Check this with Microsofts KB313994.

To create a new global catalog: 1. On the domain controller where you want the new global catalog, start the Active Directory Sites and Services snap-in. To start the snap-in, click Start, point to Programs, point to Administrative Tools, and then click Active Directory Sites and Services.
2. In the console tree, double-click Sites, and then double-click sitename.
3. Double-click Servers, click your domain controller, right-click NTDS Settings, and then click Properties.
4. On the General tab, click to select the Global catalog check box to assign the role of global catalog to this server.
5. Restart the domain controller

Collapse -

Enterprise CA problems

by michaeltock In reply to Certficate Services W2k3 ...

You say this solution is to fix the problem of unable to install an Enterprise CA? My problem is the enterprise CA is greyed out. I did look and see if my domain controller was also a global catalog, and it was.

Collapse -

Enterprise CA Problems

by paulboerefijn In reply to Enterprise CA problems