General discussion

Compaq 4716 proprietary unit-modem troub

By imagepls ·
Compaq 4716 proprietary unit
I am upgrading a compaq 4716 unit to win2k. The old modem was a compaq 336=vsc isa. I replaced it with an intel(R) 536ep v.92. I set it up in dial up & networking but all I get when I attemp to connect is a prolong "opening port" dialog box which ends with a "connection failed because modem was not found" dialog box

Can anyone Help! I am new to this and even newer to the compaq box.

Thanks,
Imagepls

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

7 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by TheChas In reply to Compaq 4716 proprietary u ...

Make sure that you have the latest W2K driver from Intels Developer site.

From Control Panel / Modems, remove any listed modems.

Re-boot, and direct the device driver wizzard to use the Intel driver.

Chas

Collapse -

by imagepls In reply to Compaq 4716 proprietary u ...

The question was auto-closed by TechRepublic

Collapse -

by mrjay67 In reply to Compaq 4716 proprietary u ...