General discussion

• Creator
    Topic

Easy Ways to Update Websites? (backend systems?)

by chien.alan ·

Hey, I’m a relatively amateur web designer and I jsut joined techrepublic since it seemed to have a lot of pretty knowledgeable people running around.

So, I was wondering, is there any easier way to update websites than to have to constantly change links? I’m trying to get a webpage up for a journal, sort of like science magazine or something. So if I had to change the current issue, is there a way for my links to automatically update when I upload the new issue to the server? I was thinking that this may be able to be done in Javascript or seomthing.

Like I said, I’m realtively new to the whole html thing, and so I’ve really only learned html, some css, and a just enough javascript to understand it, though i don’t play around with it too much. So, can anyone help me or direct me to a helpful website? Maybe tell me another language that may be designed for just this type of thing?

I talked with a few people I know, and one of them mentioned that this type of thing is called a backend system, but searches on google do not turn up anything, nor on tchrepublic either. So, anyone have advice?

All Comments

• Author
    Replies

Easy ways to update web sites

by craig herberg ·

In reply to Easy Ways to Update Websites? (backend systems?)

If I understand what you want to do, it should be fairly easy to do. You could write a javscript with a table of filenames, such as

journal.july2007.html
      journal.august2007.html
      journal.september2007.html

etc.