General discussion

Group Policies using Win2000 server

By Ryu98 ·
Hi, i work for a school district and we are trying to implement group policies for the users especially for the students since teachers they don't want for students to change screensavers, install programs, use the win media player.. change desktop background. those are some examples what are they want me to do. I'm new at group policies i try to setup a policy on the server but when i login at the workstation the policy doesn't apply so i don't know what i'm doing wrong. Can any one help me find information or provide me with some examples of setting group policies at the server please.

Thanks in advance..

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

7 total posts (Page 1 of 1)  
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Comments

Collapse -

by CG IT In reply to Group Policies using Win2 ...

well there are some ways to do what you want to do. First would be to create a security account like students to use [which is a domain user account with limited privileges ] and all students who log in use that account. then make that profile a mandatory profile. that way no matter what they do, nothing will be changed on the desktop. next if this is a lab, and you have students log in under a generic account like studentt, might be best to create a group policy for the computers. you collect all the computers you want the GP to apply to in a OU. you create the GPO that you want the computers to have such as desktop look , hide or blank out control panel, display browswer settings, media player, etc the apply that GPO to the OU. Then that OU applies to the computer. Therefore anyone logging on to that computer will get those settings.

You can also do the same procedure but instead of collecting computers into the OU you collect users [or the security group student you created that students will use to log in] and apply the GPO to the OU.