HOw to join wind 7 to 2003 AD domain without DNS server

By dorahoney ·
Hi all

I am new to this stuff and have an issue which I cannot correct without causing havoc on my domain.

I have a 2003 R2 Domain which the previous IT person had not setup DNS he uses the DNS from the ISP on all the computers ( which is a mega NO NO as I know it) anyway the issue is that now I need to add windows 7 Prof clients to the domain and I am not having any luck.

Running nslookup on the windows 7 client produces the IP and name of the DNS of the ISP. I am able to ping the Domain server from the win 7 computer.

The Domain Controller does not have DNS setup at all.
There exists 6 VPN setup by the ISP toremote offices which run a custom SQL program.

As we all know wind 7 relies on DNS for mappings and so on how do I get to join this new wind 7 computer to the existing domain with the least amount of chaos now.

FYI a new server 2008 domain controller will join the domain in under a month and I was thinking on setting DNS services up on it and removing the ISP DNS from the clients then replacing the DNS IP on the clients and then setting up a forwarder on the new server DNS to the ISP's DNS.

The issue is NOW what can I do to get this wind 7 computer joined to the domain ?
Two if I do as I state above with the new server setting up DNS will I affect the VPN's??

Thanks in Advance for any help

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

13 total posts (Page 2 of 2)   Prev   01 | 02
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

if this is your domain name [ ] for your internal network add that

by CG IT In reply to HOw to join wind 7 to 200 ...

as the DNS suffix [as a helper (append DNS suffix) ] in the TPC/IP advanced DNS properties of the network card.