Question

• Creator
    Topic

HOw to join wind 7 to 2003 AD domain without DNS server

by dorahoney ·

Hi all

I am new to this stuff and have an issue which I cannot correct without causing havoc on my domain.

I have a 2003 R2 Domain which the previous IT person had not setup DNS he uses the DNS from the ISP on all the computers ( which is a mega NO NO as I know it) anyway the issue is that now I need to add windows 7 Prof clients to the domain and I am not having any luck.

Running nslookup on the windows 7 client produces the IP and name of the DNS of the ISP. I am able to ping the Domain server from the win 7 computer.

The Domain Controller does not have DNS setup at all.
    There exists 6 VPN setup by the ISP toremote offices which run a custom SQL program.

As we all know wind 7 relies on DNS for mappings and so on how do I get to join this new wind 7 computer to the existing domain with the least amount of chaos now.

FYI a new server 2008 domain controller will join the domain in under a month and I was thinking on setting DNS services up on it and removing the ISP DNS from the clients then replacing the DNS IP on the clients and then setting up a forwarder on the new server DNS to the ISP’s DNS.

The issue is NOW what can I do to get this wind 7 computer joined to the domain ?
    Two if I do as I state above with the new server setting up DNS will I affect the VPN’s??

Thanks in Advance for any help

All Answers

• Author
    Replies

Clarifications

by dorahoney ·

In reply to HOw to join wind 7 to 2003 AD domain without DNS server

Clarifications

Use the HOSTS file?

by seanferd ·

Otherwise, I’m not entirely sure about how the home networking aspect of 7 works, but you should be able to join the workgroup/”domain”.

Note that your only problem here might not be the lack of a local DNS server. For example, http://support.microsoft.com/kb/926505