Discussions

Starting an IT consultant business, need advice!

+
0 Votes

Starting an IT consultant business, need advice!

slconsultingsvc
Sorry if this has been posted before. I am new to TechRepublic. I got on here looking for information from IT consultants. I have been dabbling in the IT consultancy realm for several years on the side. A new customer has come onboard that will finally allow me to make the leap from being an employee to working for myself. I have a couple of different customers who frequently call me and I have enough contacts and a reputation that I believe I can be very successful at this. Scratch that... I know I will be successful at this.
So I am looking for advice from all the seasoned IT Consultants on here. What did you do right or what would you have done differently when you started up? And basically I am open to any advice that any of you have.
  • +
    0 Votes
    TBotNik

S,

What is your specialty?

Remember to differentiate yourself from the crowd.

TBNK

+
    0 Votes
    KSoniat

Anything by Sterling "Chip" Camden will tend to be consultant based.

You can sign up for newsletters by specialty and "consultant" is one of them.

Good Luck!

+
    0 Votes
    slconsultingsvc

Thanks for the tip on the newsletters. Also I have been an administrator in the medical field for the past few years and I recently upgraded the medical software for a local doctor so I think that may end up being a niche market for me. And quite frankly it would be a very good one. There are just too many small doctors offices that do not have the staff to have a clear and concise understanding of HIPPA requirements as it pertains to their computer equipment.

+
    0 Votes
    shasca

I have fully automated integrated Dentist, and opthtometrist. I have quite a huge picture portfolio.

+
    0 Votes
    TBotNik

S,

Please contact me via my LinkedIN page at:

http://www.linkedin.com/in/tbotnik