General discussion

• Creator
    Topic

They call me a Network Administrator, but what am I really?

by clindell ·

As the title states I am a Network Administrator at a job where I am on a contract and could go perm soon. I feel the offer is low at 50K in northern California and the north bay and the demands are extremely high and stressful, how much should I expect to make?

I am a one man IT shop for a small company and do EVERYTHING, not just computers and servers, but handle leases of all hardware and copiers and printers the installation and return of leased equipment as well as handle the phone switch (PBX) and voice mail system. Let?s not forget the Cisco VPN concentrator, Cash register systems, purchasing, I review billing on any IT related expense, Cell phones and the 24/7 on call phone support to the remote sales staff or the owners if needed.

Manage LAN/WAN, Windows NT and 2000 Servers, Window 2000 pro and XP pro workstations
    Manage Company PBX phone switch and voice mail system
    Exchange 2000 Email server with secure Outlook Web Access
    Windows 2000 Active Directory administration
    Cisco VPN Management
    Help desk services for local employees and remote Sales staff and on call as needed
    Company website management
    Manage company software and licensing
    Hardware and software purchasing upgrades and rollouts
    Training of employees on new systems
    Manage multipurpose copiers, printers and fax machines
    Manage leasing of computer systems and multipurpose copiers
    Manage all data, phone lines, IT contracts and billing
    Manage all Cellular phone services and billing
    Manage and maintain company tape data backup system
    Advisor to Owners and COO for all data and IT needs

What am I ?

Thanks,

Clindell

All Comments

• Author
    Replies

The same as most of us

by ohwell ·

In reply to They call me a Network Administrator, but what am I really?