General discussion

• Creator
    Topic

Using Windows and Linux on a LAN for a small business

by skclewis ·

Hello all. First let me lay some foundation for this discussion.
    1. I am new to Linux and have installed and used the Mandrake distro with some success. But most of my computing experience has been in the Windows environment.
    2. I am needing advice on a problem I am trying to solve. I am planning on retiring in a couple of years and opening a small business. The business will be an Internet cafe which may expand to including a gaming center.
    3. Hopefully the advice may be of benefit to others facing a similar situation.

OK, so here is where I need the advice.

From what I have read here at TechRepublic and other IT websites/forums, Linux is a very cost effective system while providing excellent network stability and security. Compared to the cost of the Windows Server platform, Linux is definitely lower in cost. Since my start up budget for the Internet cafe will be limited, cost is a primary concern. However, most of the Internet cafe management software I have located will only run on Windows.

Can I have Linux act as the main server on the network and run a Windows application server to handle the cafe management software and other business related applications?

Can anyone direct me to some resources to help me out? I’d also like direction to any Linux applications/vendors for Internet management software as well as business management (i.e. accounting, CRM, etc.)

Thanks!

All Comments

• Author
    Replies

Simple Answers

by hal 9000 ·

In reply to Using Windows and Linux on a LAN for a small business

[i]Can I have Linux act as the main server on the network and run a Windows application server to handle the cafe management software and other business related applications?[/i]

Yes but you’ll need to have the full licensing and CAL/Terminal Services Licenses for the Windows Box so it will make the Linux Server superfluous.