Question

• Creator
    Topic

Windows SBS 2003 permissions help

by tuckerobie ·

I am setting up a Windows SBS 2003 R2 server to host a point of sales application for a family owned store. When I try to run the software from the workstation logged in to the domain as a user the program wont run. When I try it as an admin it runs just fine. I have set folder permissions to allow users full access to the folder and program. I am not a tech pro I am just the one at this family owned business that was lucky enough to be given this task… Any help would be wonderfull!

Tucker

All Answers

• Author
    Replies

Clarifications

by tuckerobie ·

In reply to Windows SBS 2003 permissions help

Clarifications

That Usually Means Permissions

by sajchurchey ·

So the application is installed on the server? How is the user supposed to access the application from the workstation (What are the steps involved to start the program)? What all was involved in installing the program to begin with?

Also, when you are running the application as administrator, are you running it on the workstation as administrator or on the server as the administrator?

It is most likely that there is another file or a registry key *somewhere* that still needs the permissions changed for the users to be able to run.

Thanks

by tuckerobie ·

In reply to That Usually Means Permissions

There is a runtime program that is installed on all computers in order for them to run the actual exe that is a file located on the server. The initial install of the program is just a matter of copying the program files to the share location and installing the runtime files.

All of my testing has taken place on the end user workstation as admin and user.

How would I go about finding this registry key?

Thank you so much for taking the time to help me with this.

SysInternals Suite

by sajchurchey ·

In reply to Thanks