Question

Windows Server 2003: Active Directory Setup Guide Needed

By mandocia ·
Hello, I have had problems getting xp pro computers to join my Windows Server 2003 Domain. I have decided to start over, and am going to format my server and start from scratch.

My question is as follows: is there a good guide for me to use to get this going correctly? I have used internet guides found in google up to this point, and nothing works. I need a guide that works but also explains why things are set up the way they are. Keep in mind, this is my first attempt to do this, and I do not know much as of yet. Thanks.

Daminious

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

25 total posts (Page 1 of 3)   01 | 02 | 03   Next
| Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

dude...

by mike In reply to Windows Server 2003: Acti ...

If you ignore your problems they don't go away... What kind of errors are you getting? Try to figure out what the issue is cause it really sux when you reformat, reinstall, setup, and have the same problem.

-Mike

Collapse -

oh

by mike In reply to Windows Server 2003: Acti ...

just saw your post w/ problems....

Collapse -

Reinstall

by mandocia In reply to oh

I have reinstalled once already, but the same issues I had before came up, however I did things differently. This is why I need a guide, because the ones I find online do not seem to work, I guess they assume you will know things without them telling you.

I plan to go through the install process again, but this time make sure the domain name is local, and that the NIC's tcp/ip settings point to the local DNS before I try to join a domain. If those things do not work, then I may have to consider the problem to be within my client machines themselves.

Daminious

Collapse -

shouldn't be client computers

by CG IT In reply to Reinstall

even with XP Pro SP2 the client computer should be able to reach the domain controller to join the domain.