Questions

Cannot Connect Remotely to SBS 2003 or Workstations

+
0 Votes

Cannot Connect Remotely to SBS 2003 or Workstations

mrsneakyz28
So when using a client computer inside the LAN I can remote into the server as an administrator. What I would like to do from home is either just that, or remote in to one of the workstations at the office. I am fairly new to remote connections but always thought it was pretty straight forward. However when trying to remote in over the internet I have yet to be successful (aside from remote assistance). The server is obviously listening if I was able to connect at the office. What kinds of things would prevent me from connecting over the internet. Incorrect RDP setup from home? Certain protocols on the server? I was fairly diligent in making sure everything would be accessible on the server side...
  • +
    0 Votes
    Curacao_Dejavu

On the firewall do a port forwarding on port 3389 to the server (internal ip address).

when you think you have it right on the firewall you can use www.grc.com , go to the shields up page, and scan port 3389
    you will be able then to connect from remote

Leopold

+
    0 Votes
    mrsneakyz28

Port 3389 is open. Am I configuring something incorrectly on my end? All of my necessary ports are open, there are sometimes when I try to connect that it says this computer can't connect, or sometimes when I change some settings around it says Security Certificate has expired or been revoked. Should I be putting the IP address of the Server in the RD Gateway settings or just in Computer name?

+
    0 Votes
    Curacao_Dejavu

based on grc's website ?
    if it is indeed open you should be able to telnet into it from the internet (you already confirmed that you can do that from the lan side).
    "telnet x.x.x.x 3389"

if that is not working then the firewall is redirecting to a wrong device.

just use the ip in the computername.

+
    0 Votes
    mrsneakyz28