Questions

Unable to access network share on 2008 server. Can Anyone Help?

Tags:
+
0 Votes

Unable to access network share on 2008 server. Can Anyone Help?

scott_langshaw2
Hi All

Im just wondering if anyone can help me with this.

I am a technician in secondary school and we are having trouble with a few machines not picking up student or staff home drives when the users log on. The problem is specific to the machine as the same users can log into another machine with no problems.

After alot of investigating it seems that the machines are unable to connect to the share which holds the users home folders, when i try to access the share i get a box saying i do not have permission to view the folder.

I am able to browse to the share by using the FQDN and through the format \\IPADDRESS\SHARENAME$ but unable to connect using \\SERVERNAME\SHARENAME$.

Has anyone come across this before i am really struggling and would appreciate any help.

Thanks
  • +
    0 Votes
    OH Smeg

What is running on the machines not connecting?

Things like the OS in use and how it was added to the Domain I suppose. That has to be the starting point.

Also are these machines on a common subnet or Hub/Switch?

Col

+
    0 Votes
    scott_langshaw2

Hi

Sorry forgot to mention that we are using Windows 7 and are connected to the domain all our machines are connected the same way.

They are on a common subnet. I thought it was a DNS issue at first but i can nslookup the server with no issues and also it is not a site wide problem.

+
    0 Votes
    Kenone

Can you ping the server by it's IP address?
    Can you ping the server by server name?
    Have you done flushdns on any of the machines?

+
    0 Votes
    scott_langshaw2

Hi

Yep i can ping the server by both IP and name, ive have flushed DNS on the machines to no avail.