Questions

Why Outlook 2007 converts incoming HTML email to plain text?

+
0 Votes

Why Outlook 2007 converts incoming HTML email to plain text?

maache
I use Outlook 2007 and the problem is following:

Sometimes (too often, but not always) I receive email in plain text format even though it was sent in HTML format.
(I have tested this with my friend who is also using Outlook 2007)

Also if I send HTML email to myself, I am often (almost always) receiving it in plain text.

I cannot isolate the reason for this (I am not an expert).

My preferred style is set to HTML. Note: I do receive html emails sometimes - so this problem is kind of random/mysterious to me.

How I could fix this annoying "feature"?

All help appreciated!!
  • +
    1 Votes
    matthewham

Tools > Trust Center > Email Security > uncheck 'read all messages as plain text'.

Edit: Oh I didnt read too closely, you do get html sometimes. It could just be that the people sending the email are sending in plain text instead of html.

+
    0 Votes
    Dumphrey

since its a huge security risk.

+
    0 Votes
    maache

...in business between trusted parties it is very often the only reasonable way (screenshots, tables, etc).

+
    0 Votes
    Dumphrey

but attachments work well and can be pre-scanned, as well as being zippable to reduce the size of the mail message.
    the problem with html mail is that you can't turn it on only for trusted parties, and some html email exploits do not require you to read the email, clicking on it to delete it is enough.
    But your point is well taken. If you have little contact with random emails from strangers or spam, it is safe enough to leave on.

+
    0 Votes
    gcitcah