If you have connected to the drive before, you can find the network path on the Folder drop down
When you see the Map Network Drive window you use the Drive drop down to select a drive letter. Then, you can use the Folder drop down to select a drive you've previously mapped or click the Browse button and use the Browse For Folder dialog box to locate the network folder that you want to map to a drive. Be sure to leave the Reconnect at logon check box unselected.
Image by Greg Shultz for TechRepublic.
Greg Shultz is a freelance Technical Writer. Previously, he has worked as Documentation Specialist in the software industry, a Technical Support Specialist in educational industry, and a Technical Journalist in the computer publishing industry.
I have multiple computers (XP, Vista, Windows 7) on my home network all in the identical workgroup. Once a shared folder is accessed on any computer on the computer I'm working on, it shows up under Network in Windows Explorer. If the computer the shared folder is on is then turned off, the share is still shown under Network. Clicking on that shared folder while that computer is turned off gets you an error. If all the computers are turned off and next day one computer is turned on, all those shared folders on the other turned off computers show up again under Network. When I turn on a computer, I do not want to see those shared folders UNTIL I access one. Causes confusion and clutter. Other than manually deleteing the visible shares or hacking the registry, is there any way to prevent shares showing up until accessed? Thanks.