Lifecycle Process for Changes to PCI DSS

Free registration required

Executive Summary

The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) secures cardholder data that is stored, processed or transmitted by merchants and other organizations. The standard is managed by the PCI Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) and its founders - American Express, Discover Financial Services, JCB International, MasterCard Worldwide and Visa Inc. Input for proposed changes to the standard is also made by PCI SSC stakeholders - participating organizations, including merchants, banks, processors, hardware and software developers, point-of-sale vendors and the assessment (QSA & ASV) community. Changes to the standard follow a defined 24-month lifecycle with five stages, described in this paper.

  • Format: PDF
  • Size: 673.91 KB