2012 Hugo and John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer nominees

George R. R. Martin, Rachel Swirsky, and John Scalzi are among this year's Hugo nominees. Find out who else is nominated, as well as the finalists for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

For once I haven't been blindsided by the nominations for the 2012 Hugos and John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, which were announced last Saturday. It's really cool that some of my favorite authors, which include George R. R. Martin, Mur Lafferty, Rachel Swirsky, Jim C. Hines, and China Miéville, made the list. I wondered how Jim C. Hines got nominated for Best Fan Writer (mostly because I own seven of his books), so I emailed him. It seems that blogging about science fiction makes one eligible. Hmm... .

Here is the complete list of Hugo Award nominees and John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer finalists.

Best Novel

Best Novella

Best Novelette

Best Short Story

Best Related Work

Best Graphic Story

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

  • Captain America: The First Avenger, screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephan McFeely, directed by Joe Johnston (Marvel)
  • Game of Thrones (Season 1), created by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss; written by David Benioff, D. B. Weiss, Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson, and George R. R. Martin; directed by Brian Kirk, Daniel Minahan, Tim van Patten, and Alan Taylor (HBO)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner Bros.)
  • Hugo, screenplay by John Logan; directed by Martin Scorsese (Paramount)
  • Source Code, screenplay by Ben Ripley; directed by Duncan Jones (Vendome Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

  • "The Doctor's Wife" (Doctor Who), written by Neil Gaiman; directed by Richard Clark (BBC Wales)
  • "The Drink Tank's Hugo Acceptance Speech," Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon (Renovation)
  • "The Girl Who Waited" (Doctor Who), written by Tom MacRae; directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)
  • "A Good Man Goes to War" (Doctor Who), written by Steven Moffat; directed by Peter Hoar (BBC Wales)
  • "Remedial Chaos Theory" (Community), written by Dan Harmon and Chris McKenna; directed by Jeff Melman (NBC)

Best Semiprozine

Best Fanzine

Best Fancast

Best Professional Editor - Long Form

  • Lou Anders
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Anne Lesley Groell
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Betsy Wollheim

Best Professional Editor - Short Form

  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Sheila Williams

Best Professional Artist

  • Dan dos Santos
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Michael Komarck
  • Stephan Martiniere
  • John Picacio

Best Fan Artist

  • Brad W. Foster
  • Randall Munroe
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Maurine Starkey
  • Steve Stiles
  • Taral Wayne

Best Fan Writer

  • James Bacon
  • Claire Brialey
  • Christopher J Garcia
  • Jim C. Hines
  • Steven H Silver

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2010 or 2011, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award).

  • Mur Lafferty
  • Stina Leicht
  • Karen Lord (2nd year of eligibility)
  • Brad R. Torgersen (2nd year of eligibility)
  • E. Lily Yu

I look upon the nominated novels, novellas, novellas, and short stories that I somehow missed last year as additions to my reading pile. Hopefully I'll be able to finish my reading list before December's apocalypse; if not, maybe the one that dies with the most books wins.

The Hugos will be awarded at Chicon 7, the 70th World Science Fiction Convention (or Worldcon) on September 2, 2012.

Editor's note: Geekend contributor and TechRepublic's Trivia Geek Jay Garmon was "kinda, sorta nominated for a Hugo Award." Very cool!