Windows Server 2008 Roles and Editions Matrix

Windows Server 2008 will ship with a number of new and enhanced server roles. Over my next few postings, I'll go over these roles in detail and outline what is new and what has changed with each server role. For this posting, I thought I'd provide you with a role matrix that briefly describes the job or each role and lets you know in which editions a role is available.

In the columns to the right, the abbreviations stand for:

W = Web Edition

S = Standard Edition

E = Enterprise Edition

DC = Data Center Edition

I = Itanium Edition

Server Role Short description W S E DC I
Active Directory Certificate Services Allows the server to create certificate authorities - X* X X -
Active Directory Domain Services Stores information about users, computers, and other resources on the network. Help administrators manage this information securely and facilitates resource sharing and collaboration between users. - X X X -
Active Directory Federation Services Provides Web single-sign-on capabilities to authenticate a user to multiple, related Web applications over the life of a single online session. - X X X -
Active Directory Lightweight Directory Services Provides data storage and retrieval for directory-enabled applications, without the dependencies that are required for Active Directory Domain Services. - X X X -
Active Directory Rights Management Services Allows you to protect information with DRM. - X X X -
Application Server Provides an environment for deploying and running custom business applications that are built with Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0 - X X X X
DHCP Server Automatically provides client computers and other TCP/IP based network devices with IP addresses. - X X X -
DNS Server Provides name resolution servers. - X X X -
Fax Server Use fax devices to enable the users in your network to send and receive faxes. - X X X -
File Services Adds file serving capabilities to your server, including replication, shared folder management, file searching and more. - X* X X -
Hyper-V (optional in all versions) A hypervisor-based virtualization layer. - X X X -
Network Policy and Access Services Helps to protect your network by making sure client computers are healthy. - X* X X -
Print Services Allows you to share printers among client computers. - X X X -
Terminal Services Providers users with the ability to centrally access a desktop and individual applications. - X* X X -
UDDI Services Provides Universal Description, Discovery, and Integration (UDDI) capabilities for sharing information about Web services. - X X X -
Web Services (IIS) Provides a web serving platform based on the new IIS 7. X X X X X
Windows Deployment Services A simplified and secure way to deploy Windows desktops. - X X X -