Networks

Question

1500 foot LAN gap

By jjcanaday ·
I have a remote location that needs broadband internet access. Unfortunately, it is in a controlled access building. (Well, it's a State Penitentiary.) After dismal performance with a DSL line, we signed a contract for a T1 line.

Unfortunately, the Pen told the installer to terminate our line at their demarc - which is somewhere between 1500 and 1800 feet from where I need service.

I know I can't just run a CATx line that far, and I'm pretty sure fiber-optic is my only choice but, I have no experience at all with fiber. The PEN IT guy I'm working with will be responsible for running the line and, assures me that they have the experience to do so (they make some use fiber themselves). But I have to supply the equipment (including the fiber).

Can someone please help me plan out some (specific) hardware to bridge this gap from a Cisco 1941 router with T1 interface to my existing switch? If you could go so far as to include CDW numbers, that would be great. (Apparently their LAN/WAN expert is too busy to work with me on this any time this week.)

I'm looking on the CDW website now and I'm mostly seeing brands I've never heard of: Canary, Black Box, Omnitron, etc. I want quality equipment I can count on.

Thanks in advance,

Jim

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

How about

by The 'G-Man.' In reply to 1500 foot LAN gap

as they have the experience, you ask them what they need and then you go and get it?

Collapse -

Sorry, ask who?

by jjcanaday In reply to How about

Telco says "this is where the demarc is but, we'll put in a new one where you want it for 13K+, and you provide the buried conduit"

Prison says "I ran you 1500' of ethernet from the demarc to your area. Now it's your problem"

CDW rep says "I've handed it off to my LAN/WAN expert. I'll get back to you."