Question

• Creator
    Topic

Chromebook or Android Tablet for education?

by bunchaviolets ·

I’m a teacher, and I need help. There’s not enough hardware for my students to utilize all the learning tools to which I’d like them to have access. I’ve looked at the pros and cons of these two options, and want to know what some non-education techies think. Chromebook bothers me because I don’t think that netbooks are the direction the world’s going, plus it’s new and will probably be going through some growing pains. It’s certainly much more affordable than the more reliable Android tablets, and would be easier to maintain, I think, for our IT department.
    I want students to be able to listen to audio books, read books, do presentations using web-based applications like prezi, access and utilize word docs stored on my website, collaborate online, and write and store docs either through google or dropbox. Thoughts?

All Answers

• Author
    Replies

Clarifications

by bunchaviolets ·

In reply to Chromebook or Android Tablet for education?

Clarifications

Well my opinion for what little it’s worth

by oh smeg ·

Is I would go for the Droid. The Chrome Book is effectively nothing more than a Web Browser and without a Net Connection it’s useless.

Not that the Droid is much better but at least it can do a bit more without the net. 😉

Col

Reponse To Answer

by bunchaviolets ·

In reply to Well my opinion for what little it’s worth

What’s your beef with the Android tablet? What potential problems do you see? We have a microsoft education bundle, so using an ipad is hard to legitimize… I have looked at the Samsung Galaxy or the Motorola XOOM. Thanks so much for your response!

No real issue with the Droid

by oh smeg ·

But like the iPad it’s not a Windows Based system which may be a problem for your current needs.

The Chrome Books are effectively a Browser and nothing more without a Net connection.