Question

If you are an experienced tech guy and have 100,000.00 dollars with you, what would you do?

By thisisahmed ·
Dear Tech Community,

I will be landing soon in Canada as an immigrant and will be taking around 100,000.00 Canadian dollars with me (My whole life's savings).

I have 18 years of experience in providing advanced level tech support, mostly Windows environment (Can also work on Unix/Linux a bit). Have also worked in Dell USA for 5 years in their Enterprise Expert Center (4 years ago, then returned back to my home country)

Now looking at the job market in Canada, it seems nearly impossible to get a good job there, so I am thinking about starting my own business as "Freelance IT Consultant" but this profession don't need that much investment.

So what to do with my money, just put it in a saving account or buy mutual funds?

Do you guys have any other ideas where I can utilize both my money and knowledge/experience to start a different kind of business and make my life easier/better?

Edit: Here is the link to my resume: http://muhammadahmed.com/resume

Thanks in advance!

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

17 total posts (Page 2 of 2)   Prev   01 | 02
Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

More comments

by JamesRL In reply to If you are an experienced ...

When you worked for Dell USA, where were you located? Was it the US? If thats the case, your should have an easier time.

I'm in the GTA too, my town has a sizable South Asian community. You could easily get a mortgage, buy life insurance, invest in the stock market, or buy a house even if you didn't speak english. My member of Parliament, and the one for the riding next door are South Asian (thats the in vogue term here).

I might suggest trying the contracting route - there are a few places that specialize in IT contractors, and that would get you some experience and help you build contacts.