Linux

Question

Old Laptop; Scrub Win2000; install Linux????

By gtmedley ·
I have an old Dell Lattitude with Win2000 that is slow and rickety. It has been replaced, but I was wondering if it would be possible to totally remove Win20000 OS and replace with Linux for web browsing and OpenOffice? Just curious. I am not a techie. Is there a easy way to do this? Thank you.

This conversation is currently closed to new comments.

Thread display: Collapse - | Expand +

All Answers

Collapse -

A PIII should run most just fine

by jdclyde In reply to 66mhz is your limitation

depending on how much RAM he has. (we haven't been told yet)

I would make sure it is a MINIMUM of 256m, checking Kingston.com will give the right memory for that laptop.

I am running MINT on a P4 1.5, but don't know how it would work on a system half it's speed.

Puppy linux is a nice small one. Designed to run off a flash stick.

Got an old PII 400 I am about to try this on.

Collapse -

What I found with Ubuntu on my p2 200 was

by Slayer_ In reply to A PIII should run most ju ...

That while most motions were snappy, when you tried to load something, it would just seem to sit there, no mouse curser animation or nothing, giving you no indication it was doing anything. After you loaded each app once it got significantly better, with the exception of making sudo gui sessions, which took almost 5 minutes to load with no actual indication of it working. I had it set to an icon, so I would just click it and go watch TV for 5 minutes.

I tried the stock GUi and one called xfer I think..... Both were crazy slow. So I would definitly say 200mhz is far to low for Ubuntu. I had 256mb of RAM btw :).

The machine just recently detonated, so I never got to try any other nix distros on it.