Discussion Locked

Faxing from Outlook 2000

0 helpful
66 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

I want to find out if it is possible to have a fax form be created for a contact that will automatically fill out info as the recipient's name, phone number, etc? We've been able to do this in ACT!, where we would go to a contact and choose Write Fax Cover Page and it would open up a cover page with all the info filled out for the TO: and FROM: sections. Is there a way to do this with Outlook 2000?
Thanks for any suggestions.

66 replies

by emcs

I believe this is what you are looking for.

When you create a fax cover page, you are actually creating a template and specifying the appropriate information that you want displayed on the cover page.

How to Set Up Your Fax Information and Create a Cover Page
Click Start, point to Settings, click Control Panel, and then double-click Fax.

On the User Information tab, type your appropriate personal information.

On the Cover Pages tab, click New.

On the Insert menu, click Recipient, and then click Name.

The To: (Recipients Name) box is displayed in your template. You can right-click the box to adjust its size or move it around in the template. You can also cut, copy, or paste items into the template.

NOTE: The Recipientboxes are automatically filled in with the recipient destination information that you specify later on in Microsoft Word 2000. You are not able to type any recipient information directly into this template screen.

You can continue inserting additional boxes that you want displayed on the fax cover page. If you click Insert again, and you can also choose to add Sender and Message boxes.

When you are finished building your fax cover page, on the File menu, click Save, and then type a name for your cover page. The file is saved to your personal cover pages folder in the following location:

\\%SystemRoot%\Documents and Settings\username.domainname\My Documents\Fax\Personal Coverpages
where username is the name of the user, and domainname is the name of the domain.

NOTE: The Sender boxes are automatically filled in later with the information that you specified on the User Information tab. You are not able to type any sender information directly into this template screen.
Good luck.

dennie

by jmar17

emcs,

What you suggested is kinda what we're looking for except for one very important part. We want to be able to do this from any contact from WITHIN Outlook 2000.

by charlesn

There is a product on the market called Tobit FaxWare eMessaging server that comes with an Outlook 2000 plug-in that will automatically generate covers pages and fill it with info such as recipients details etc. The plugin is actually a COM add-in and also adds a fax button in Outlook 2000 or any Office 2000 toolbar. You can request a free eval CD at www.fax4everything.com. The product also allows you to setup fax broadcast, fax merge and production fax (ties into any platform including web server).

by spn

If you've got fax software installed all you need is the mail merge facility thats built into most office suites includings Office
The procces of explaining the ins and out will be length so I suggest you use the Office help and search the key word"mail merge" .this will give you the ablity to send a "personaled" fax to 1,20,etc all of your contacts.
Hope that helps
SPiNner

by marence

You can create a new form that can be used from Contacts (or any other part of Outlook, for that matter). Tools -> Forms -> Design A Form is where you start. You will need to publish the completed form to your Exchange server. More information canbe found in Microsoft KnowledgeBase articles 271225 and 146636.

by ben low

In my organization, we are using LAN-based Fax solution with Outlook integration to send daily fax. In addition, my marketing department is also using the same solution to do mass faxing. The only concern here you need to spend additional cost to acquire LAN-based fax software and necessary hardware. The software need to have the capability and interface to intercept the message meant for the fax server.

The benefit of using this solution is it is easily available from the market now and you can compare all the fax software in the market to suit your requirements. Of course you can develop your own from Outlook but it is time consuming and not cost effective.

by jmar17

Thank you for your advice but it didn't provide me with an answer to my question or how it can be done.

by pptmagic

Assuming you're using the full Office Suite:

Create a FAX template for Word and put it in your templates folder.

Highlight your contact in Outlook
Click on Actions
Click on New Letter to Contact
Select your Fax Page Design
Complete the Wizard.

Print the document.
Done.

Works for any contact from within Outlook.

Glenna

by jmar17

When I try this and get to the New Letter to Contact step, I don't get an option to select a Fax Page Design.

by vinnyd

Yes it is very possible for Outlook to Write a Fax Cover page. I did this for a customer who was doing this in Act and now wanted to do it in Outlook.

There is a book "Special Edition Using Microsoft Outlook 2000" by QUE. It is written by GordonPadwick with Helen Feddema.

It goes thru the steps of creating a Word Template and the macro that will read the information from any outlook contact and merge it into the Word Template.

I used the sample they had and was able to modify the outlook Actions menu to put the macro right on the Outlook menu just like they had in Act 4.0.

IF you like I can e-mail you the actual one that I have and instructions on how to use it.

by mhjmusic

this can be accomplished quite easily if you have WinFax 9.0 or higher. It integrates perfectly with Outlook 2000. From within WinFax, you can use any Outlook Contact folder, including Public folders (if you use Exchange) as an address source. It fills in the appropriate fields, and you can use it across a network so people can use the same Fax Cover templates, and the same Contact information.
It works great in my office on a NT 4.0 network with 18 users with virtually no maintenance.

by vinaykarp

To use the Microsoft At Work fax program with Microsoft Outlook 2000, you need to download the Microsoft At Work fax program from the Microsoft Office Web site.

For more details, On the Help menu, click Office on the Web in Outlook 2000.

by jmar17

I'm sorry I didn't mention we are using Windows 2000 for many of our workstations and Microsoft At Work fax does not work with Windows 2000 as far as I know. Thanks for your suggestion.

by robbinsr

Highlight contact in Outlook
~Click Actions
~Click New Letter to Contact
~Select Fax Page Design
~Complete Wizard.

*Print document*

by jmar17

When I try this I get a Letter Wizard after the New Letter to Contact step. And a Wizard would require going through too many steps. We want something similar to what we had in the past where all it required was a 2 step process to get the contactinfo onto a fax page. Thanks for your suggestion.

by brian.clayton

i will email you a zip file with sample templates and scripts for creating 'hot buttons' on your contact forms. i am doing this for my organization now and as well as configuring buttons for autofilling other documents. works great!

by veetz

You seem to have experienced the same issue that had arose in this office.

What MicroSoft did was add the Starter Application of WinFaxPro in Outlook 2000. It can be made applicable for your needs but it is highly abbreviated.

The best thingto do is to obtain the full version of WinFaxPro 10 and install it. The next thing you will notice is that the fax feature in Outlook 2000 will disappear.

After that each time you want to send out a fax, it will be necessary to do it out of WinFaxPro 10. This is not difficult at all to do because you can create a PhoneBook in WinFaxPro 10. Whenever you want to send out a fax, you merely highlight the name of an entry of your choice in the phone book, click on SEND and the Cover Page, which you may have already customized, appears.

Then you merely add a few notes to the cover page, add an attachment, and click on SEND again. You will then be able to monitor the fax and each page as it is transmitted to your recipient.

It is very easy and it is worth it to have such an application installed. There is even a provision in WinFaxPro 10 for E-Mailing your faxes out to a recipient.

VEETZ...

by pancras

Just some help items after searching fax in outlook help.
------>About sending a fax using Outlook
Sending a fax with Microsoft Outlook is as easy as sending an e-mail message. To send a fax, click the File menu, point to New, and then click New Fax Message. Outlook installs the fax feature the first time you use it. ..
..
-------->Add personal information to a fax
If you enable the cover page option (on the Tools menu, click Options, and then click the Fax tab), Microsoft Outlook automatically inserts the following information on your cover page when you send a fax:
Personal information Your name, company name, phone number... To change this personal information, click the Tools menu, click Options, click the Fax tab, and then click Edit.
------>Recipient information
The recipient address information you specify in the message window. The faxes you send from Outlook include the recipient information on the fax item. This can be used as a cover page.
------->Send a bulk e-mail or fax using contacts
Open the Contacts folder that contains the contacts you want to use.
You can mail merge from only one Contacts folder at a time. How to move contacts into a single folder.

On the Tools menu, click Mail Merge.

Select which contacts you want to use.

Select which fields to use.

If you want to use a previously created document as your fax template, click Existing document, click Browse, and then select the document.

To save the contact data, select the Permanent file check box, click Browse, and select the document.

Do one of the following:
To send a bulk e-mail, in the Merge to list, click E-mail, and then in the box that appears, enter the subject line for the e-mail.

To send a bulk fax, in the Merge to list, click Fax. This option is only available if you have installed the Microsoft At Work fax program.

I hope this is helping

by sdhanvada

Yes this can be done from Outlook 2000.In Outlook, on the File menu, point to New, and then click Fax Message.
In the To box, enter the name of the contact. If the recipient's fax number is not in your contact list, type the fax number in the To box.

You can type the subject in the Subject box,

In the message window, type your message. If you included a cover page (this is optional) , your message appears on it; otherwise, it appears on the first page of the fax.Once the message is ready just click Send.
For this to work you should have installed the Symantec Fax Starter Edition.In case you haven't the moment you click on the Fax it will ask you for installating the same.Just put your Office 2000 Cd for the installation and after that you can fax.It works quite fine.
Regards,
Seetha

by babette

Start the appropriate program, and open the first document you want to appear in the fax.

Include a cover page (optional).

On the File menu of the program you are in, click Print.

In the Printer Name list, click Symantec Fax Starter Edition.

Click Print, or OK.

Do one of the following:
In the To box, enter the name of the contact.

If the recipient's fax number is not in your contact list, type the fax number in the To box..

In the Subject box, type a brief description of the fax.

In the message area, type any text you want included as a cover page.

Include any additional files (optional).

Click Send.

by zendeath

Have you tried creating a macro
to pull up the temp and add the selected data.
or use vb script

by dalbil

As I understand your's question. I will try to answer.
Open outlook 2000
from tools menu to proporities.
You will be able to see "fax" then click it
yours identify will appear. and click EDIT button and fill yours informationa like that names adress number etc.
and close the edit window
you must sign the send cover page box.
Finally now you can send every time yours cover page
I hope this is yours answerd.
Because, I'm very poor english.

by tonyd

you can achive this with software call Topcall by using this software you can even send attachment as fax

by pdpjp

The answer to your question can be found in the Outlook help files. I hve also tried it to see if it works and didn't have any problems. It will be listed under the query,"faxing mail merge". I pasted here for you:
Send a bulk e-mail or fax usingcontacts
Open the Contacts folder that contains the contacts you want to use.
You can mail merge from only one Contacts folder at a time. How to move contacts into a single folder.

On the Tools menu, click Mail Merge.

Select which contacts you want to use.

Select which fields to use.

If you want to use a previously created document as your fax template, click Existing document, click Browse, and then select the document.

To save the contact data, select the Permanentfile check box, click Browse, and select the document.

Do one of the following:
To send a bulk e-mail, in the Merge to list, click E-mail, and then in the box that appears, enter the subject line for the e-mail.

To send a bulk fax, in theMerge to list, click Fax. This option is only available if you have installed the Microsoft At Work fax program.

by karthikkumar

I'll presume you are using Symantec Winfax starter or Pro edition with your Outlook account.Even if not.You can add the contacts whom you want to send faxes to as vcard files in your contacts tab.Add all the details in the vcard of the contact whom you want to send faxes to (including fax number in the details tab).Now open a new mail window and click on "To" button to add the contacts faxing to.Type the message and when you are ready to send,click on the send button's down arrow and click yourfax software(symantec starter or pro)This will send the fax and will fill out the details of the person to whom you want to send the fax to as you're using a fax cover page template and not a blank page.Hope this has solved your problem

by bradheld

You would have to either have to have chosen the internet option instead of workgroup install in outlook. This will install winfax. If this is not an option then a custom form is the way you would want to go. this can be created in Word or outlook, also the user would need to have a fax number listed in the contacts folder in Outlook. I hope this helps.

by tonyd

I spoke with tom from Topcall he said you can achieve faxing from outlook client only thing is you will need to add on additional field in address book and user will have choice of sending a fax or an e-mail.
Tom's e-mail address is scornavacca@topcallamericas.com and his phone number is 215-295-7459

by dorin

You need to have MS Exchange configured for faxing capability. Then, on the Client, you open New Mail Message\To\New\In this message only and pick up the FAX option which will show up (if implemented on MS Exchange).

by x10nd

Thats simple
do this
file -> new fax message
enter the fax number and click on send

jean

by woensel

You could try to make a template file. Go to tools->forms->design forms. There is a possibilty that you can make a template that gets its info ou t of a database so the neccecary information is put down on the right place. It should take some time making a template. Another possiblity is to make a macro that does the work for you !

by mario

there is a program called zetafax 2000 which intergrates with all Microsoft office products - it will do what you are attempting - you may download a trial version at www.download.com and do a search for ZetaFax
Mario Western

by blair

It sounds as if you just want to create a fax sheet that you can print, and then fax manually.

If so, I recommend you create a fax template in Word.

When creating the template, use the mail merge facility. This will allow you to insert your Outlook fields in the template (data source=address book). Then save the template, and you can begin using it.

When you open the template, all you need to do is a standard mail merge (applying query options from the mail merge wizard).

Good luck.

by jfruits

This question has been open a long time, but if you are still looking for an answer, here's what I ran into.

We converted from Act to Outlook at the beginning of the year, and ran into the problem that our sales reps wanted the entire "Write" menu. Our company didn't want to spend any money on this, so I wrote a small Visual Basic program that Automates the existing Mail Merge command.

User Tasks: Select Contact/Contacts from Outlook Contacts. Click "Merge" button at top of Outlook. Select from Menu: Letter, Fax Cover Sheet, Mailing Labels, or Other. Word will open a pre-made template that has the proper information on it, and ready to go.

I would suggest creating something similar. It has gotten my entire sales department off my back.

If you want more information on it, e-mail me at j_fruits@clubcolors.com

Good Luck!

by one2one_ecommerce

Sending a Fax from Outlook 2000

This must be done from M/S Word (you can use your Outlook Contacts from Word)

1. Open M/S Word

2. Create and send a fax with the Fax Wizard

3. On the File menu, click New.

4. Click the Letters and Faxestab.

5. Double-click the Fax Wizard.

6. Follow the steps in the wizard.

If is does not work you must "ADD" the FAX Wizard from your M/S Office 2000 CD using the Control Panel. (Start>Settings>Control Panel) and then following the "ADD" instructions.

This discussion is closed to new replies.