Discussion Locked

Locking users out of one server

0 helpful
4 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

I need to solve an odd problem. We've got four servers with different things going on with each. One is an application server. At about 4:30 every day, a process gets run on this app server for which we need everybody out of the system, but the application doesn't support keeping them out. I need to keep them out using NT. I can't use Login time policies because
1. They want to be flexible. If they want to let people in on a certain afternoon, they don't want to have to recreate the world to make that happen.
2. The users need to access the other servers during that timeframe. From what I know, you can't use Policies to kick/keep a user out of one particular server only.

Another option is to stop the Server service, but that won't work either because one workstation needs to be running to initiate the process that they start at 4:30.

So, the 200 point question is, how do I kick all users but one out and keep them out during this time???

4 replies

by steve cody

You may be able to get this to work by stopping the Netlogon service on the server in question. You would need to make sure the one workstation is logged in prior to 4:30.
Because I can't test this out, I can't say for sure if this will work, especially if the workstations authenticate on a different server. It would be worth a try though. You could set up a batch file that would do a "net stop netlogon" on the server and then a "net start netlogon" to start it back up when the work is done.
I hope I am not way off track here, but this might work for you.
Hope this helps.
- Steve

by guy

At 4:00 I would issue a network message to all attached users saying 'the server will be unavailable at 4:30' You can use the Server Manger - send message for this.
I would repeat the message at 4:25.
At 4:30 you could change the permissions on the network share to only allow the one user.
Then at 4:31 use the Server Icon to disconnect all users, then only the one user should be able to reconnect. Reverse the permissions after the process completes. You could try automating the process by a batch file using CACLS from the Resource Kit.

This discussion is closed to new replies.