5 replies
by yorkster
by bwatson
by mckaytech
Gary's answer corresponds with the official Microsoft method. It works well and is almost always transparent to the users, except if they happen to be logged on to their mailbox at the moment of the move. Even then, if they log off and log on again a few minutes later, everything is peachy.
However, there is an alternate procedure called a "forklift" upgrade where you do an off-line backup of the Information Stores and restore it to the new server. This is my favorite approach because theold server remains fully functional until you're sure the new one is okay.
A couple of resources for you from Microsoft's Technet site:
Q199954 describes the forklift procedure
Q155216 describes the move
Q152959 provides information on removing the original server from the LAN after the new one is up (not necessary with the forklift upgrade)
paul
by bwatson
by bwatson
This discussion is closed to new replies.
Trending Software posts
Sort by Trending