8 replies
by bds19591 Accepted solution
by philthegreat Accepted solution
Sometimes bugs or Word files (with virus) or problems will force the Normal.dot into a strange file.
Check with the files which cause this problem.
Strange?
Yes, this problems occur in Word 97 and since then it has not been solved.
by bds19591 Accepted solution
by captbilly1eye Accepted solution
Next time that happens, try this. It's worked for me.
Find and re-name your Normal.dot file. This is often buried in your user profile. (ex. C:\Documents and Settings\[User Profile Name]\Application Data\Microsoft\Templates *). Re-name the file. You cannot rename the file if Word is running. It does not matter what you name the file: I usually add a single letter to the front of the file name: "onormal.dot." Then open Word. Word performs a check on startup to ensure it can find its normal.dot. If it cannot, it creates a new, blank default normal.dot. The file it leaves you when it exits is a brand new fresh template.
* Note: if you don't see the 'Application Data' folder, it means it is hidden. In Windows Explorer, go to the Tools menu, click on Folder Options, select the View tab, put a dot in front of 'Show Hidden Files and Folders' and hit Apply and OK.
As far as HOW it happened... here are some thoughts:
If you use any of the following features, your documents are likely to corrupt: Master Documents, Nested Tables, Versions, Fast Saves, Document Map, and saving to a floppy.
In addition, saving when resources are low can cause corruptions. If you notice Word start to slow down noticeably it's always best to quit and restart Word immediately; to close any other applications that are open; and to clear the clipboard, by selecting any character and copying it.
Other signs that you are low on resources: fonts suddenly not displaying properly; the wrong application icons appearing on your Desktop or in Windows Explorer (e.g. Word's icon appearing where Excel's should be). If you get these symptoms, restart Windows immediately.
A corrupt printer driver can corrupt memory; and if you then save, this can corrupt the document. Symptoms: Word often crashes when printing (cure: reinstall the driver).
A corrupt template will corrupt any new documents based on it. A corrupt Normal.dot template is especially bad -- it spreads its evil almost like a virus to almost every new document you create.
If you create list numbering using the Format + Bullets and Numbering dialog, this is likely to lead to a corruption arising eventually, especially if you also have the "Automatically update document styles" checkbox ticked on the Tools + Templates and Addins dialog (less of a problem with Heading numbering than other types).
A bad sector on your hard disk can corrupt a document saved to that sector. Make sure you run Scandisk regularly. Running Defrag regularly will also help reduce the chances of running low on resources. Encourage users to save to the network. Make regular backups.
Corruptions are usually, but not always, stored in Section Breaks. The final paragraph mark in a document contains a hidden Section Break, so in a single-section document, corruptions tend to be stored in the final paragraph mark.
Corruptions can also be stored in any paragraph mark in a document; or in an end-of-cell or end-of-row marker within a table; or in a bookmark. (Corrupt bookmarks are very rare in Word 97 and above, unless you have been using EndNote).
If you find that certain commands such as Edit>Find don't work within a certain table, that table is probably corrupt.
If you find text mysteriously disappearing and reappearing as you page down past a particular paragraph, that paragraph's paragraph mark is likely to be corrupt.
by bds19591 Accepted solution
by captbilly1eye Accepted solution
Somehow I missed that you had deleted it at one time. My Bad. If the problem continued after deleting the template, then the issue was probably caused by something else - most likely a registry key change would quickly correct it.
But before that,
Here are some additional steps and info on the Normal.dot template:
Under Tools - Options - Save, turn on the checkbox which says "Prompt to save Normal template", if it isn't switched on already (unfortunately, it is switched off by default). The only time you should ever save Normal.dot is when you have knowingly made a change to it that you want to save. Then you should save it by holding the Shift key down and selecting File + Save All. And be sure never to save Normal.dot when resources are low (see: Why do documents corrupt?).
Allowing Word to save Normal.dot whether you've consciously made changes to it or not, is OK in versions of Word later than Word 97/98.
Now... back to the registry fix.
Uninstalling and reinstalling does not get rid of all registry entries and there is one that remains that typically causes problems like you experienced.
Remember - be careful when editing the registry!
Open Regedit. (Start-Run-type in Regedit).
On the left side of the window, click the folders in the following order (the location will vary depending on your version of Word):
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\version number\Word\Data.
Right-click the Data folder and select Edit.
Rename the folder.
Close the registry.
When you restart Word, the problem should be resolved. A new data folder will be created automatically.
I hope this helps in the future.
;-)
by bds19591 Accepted solution
by captbilly1eye Accepted solution
Yupper. The upgrade may well have been the root cause.
I've found it is always a good practice with Office to completely uninstall previous versions including deleting the Office folder from Program Files but leaving the My Documents folder before installing any newer versions.
Specially if either version has Access!!
Why M$ Office upgrades cause so many issues is a mystery we will probaly never know. ;-)
Have a great rest of the week!
This discussion is closed to new replies.
Trending Software posts
Sort by Trending