Question Locked

Outlook Corupt PSt

0 helpful
5 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

Hi guys, i know this topic has been asked many times but I have a new slant on it. We still use outlook 2000 here because of the microsoft mail part which i understand is not availble in 2003+. We use pfbackup to copy our pst's to a Nas server. When i needed to go back to the backup i found it was corrupt, so i tested them all and found all the pfbackups corrupt. When a copy of the pst was stored manually this was ok.

I have read that pfbackup is for 2002+, so assuming that it rewrote the backup in 2002+ i have tried them on 2003 and still no joy.

The messages i have been getting when I try and get the messages back are :

Properties for this information service must be defined prior to use
and that its not a valid pst.

The fact that I can no longer open it in 2000, 2003 or 2007 would suggest that pfbackup corrupted it. I have tried several demo outlook repair programs + scanpst but to no avail.

The director has lost lots of emails and is going spare.

Any last resort suggestions.

Thanks guys.

5 replies

by david.wallis

If you want to recover a few items that were accidentally deleted or changed, open the file and then move or copy the items from the backup file into your original file.
On the File menu, point to Open, and then click Outlook Data File.
Click the .pst file you want to open, and then click OK.
The name of the folder associated with the data file appears in the Folder List. To view the Folder List, on the Go menu, click Folder List. By default, the folder will be called Personal Folders.
Close the backup file by right-clicking it, and then click Close.
If you want to recover a large number of items or an entire folder, import the backup copy of the file. If you don't need to replace the entire folder, you can filter items to obtain the ones you want. Or you can import the entire folder and specify whether or not to replace duplicate items.
On the File menu, click Import and Export.
Click Import from another program or file, and then click Next.
Click Personal Folder File (.pst), and then click Next.
In the File to import box, specify the path and file name of the .pst file you want to import.
If you can't remember where you saved the backup

On the View menu, click Folder List.
Right-click the top-level folder of the .pst file that you want to determine the location for.
On the shortcut menu, click Properties for , and then click Advanced. The location information will be displayed in the Path box.
If you get the error message: "The Personal Folders file (.pst) could not be opened. The file may not be compatible with this version of Outlook or it may be corrupted."

Try opening the .pst file from the Outlook File menu. If you get the error message "The file is not compatible with this version of the Personal Folders information service. Contact your administrator." then the .pst file contains Unicode information. Unicode information is supported by Microsoft Office Outlook 2003 and later. If you are using an earlier version of Outlook, the file will not be accessible. If you get an error message saying the file is not readable or is corrupted, try using the Outlook Inbox Repair tool.

Choose one of the following:
Replace duplicates with items imported Existing data will be overwritten with the information in the file being imported.

Allow duplicates to be created Existing data will not be overwritten, and duplicates will be added to the current Outlook folder.

Do not import duplicate items Existing data will be kept, and the duplicate information in the file will not be copied to the current Outlook folder.

Follow the remaining instructions in the Import and Export Wizard.
If you want to recover your entire .pst file, exit Outlook and use the Windows Find command to locate and rename your damaged .pst file. Make a copy of your backup .pst file, and then give that copy the name of your damaged original .pst file. This file needs to be in the same folder as the original .pst file. Restart Outlook.

http://office.microsoft.com/en-au/outlook/HA100758021033.aspx

by it

Hi, I had tried these already but to no avail, the outlooks (of different versions) dont want to open/import it using any of the ways you described.

Thanks anyway, anyother suggestions?

Many regards
Martin

by brockadam

Microsoft provides Scanpst.exe tool to help repair problem related to .pst files. This tool scans the .pst file directory structure and item headers to restore all items and folders.

Scanpst.exe file is not able to solve this problem. Then you can try outlook pst repair tool to solve this type of problems. Outlook pst repair software scan corrupted .pst file and restore information in a new .pst file.

You can recover your mails, contacts, notes, journals, tasks, and calendar by using outlook pst repair software. So many outlook repair tools are available in the market. First try demo version to test the utilities, if satisfied get full version to restore them.

by david.wallis

the psts may be permanently corrupted as the utility you used to archive them isnt meant for the version of outlook you are using. Your version of outlook uses different encoding inside the psts to outlook 2003 and newer. not sure if you will be able to recover them or not!

edit -

outlook 2003 and newer pst files use UNICODE
older versions dont use UNICODe

you have basically used a unicode utility (pfbackup) to archive a non unicode pst file and think its permanently damaged them.

This discussion is closed to new replies.