Discussion Locked

Word 2000 missing Header autotext

0 helpful
3 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

Our enterprise has installed Office 2000 Pro (plus SP1 and SP2). We have suddenly "lost" the ability to access ANY AutoText entries when viewing Headers and Footers. All we can see is a grey button and no drop list appears.

We have tried "repairing" Office through the Instal/Uninstal process with no luck. We tried renaming the normal.dot document to normal.old (with Word NOT running) and then reopened word hoping it would give us a clean doc but that failed as well.

So, any ideas of what has caused this and - more importantly - how it can be repaired?

D.E. Bruce
USAOz@bigpond.com.au

3 replies

by purple713

Rename the Data Key in the Windows Registry
WARNING: Using Registry Editor incorrectly can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. Microsoft cannot guarantee that problems resulting from the incorrect useof Registry Editor can be solved. Use Registry Editor at your own risk.

For information about how to edit the registry, view the "Changing Keys and Values" Help topic in Registry Editor (Regedit.exe) or the "Add and Delete Information in the Registry" and "Edit Registry Data" Help topics in Regedt32.exe. Note that you should back up the registry before you edit it. If you are running Windows NT or Windows 2000, you should also update your Emergency Repair Disk (ERD).

NOTE: Renaming the Data key resets several options back to the default settings, including the Most Recently Used (MRU) file list on the File menu and many settings you customize when you click Options on the Tools menu. Word rebuilds the Data key by using built-in default settings the next time you start Word.

To rename the Data key, follow these steps:
Quit all Windows applications.

On the Windows Start menu, click Run.

In the Open box, type regedit, and then click OK.

Locate the following key by double-clicking the appropriate folders:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\9.0\Word\Data
With the Data folder selected, click Rename on the Edit menu.

Type a new name for the Data folder (for example, type OldData) and then press ENTER.

On the Registry menu, click Exit to close the Registry Editor and restart Word normally (without using the /a switch).

If Word starts correctly, you have resolved the problem. The problem is a damaged Data key. You may need to change a few settings to restore your favorite options.

This discussion is closed to new replies.