Discussion Locked

Blank Excel File

0 helpful
8 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.
When one of our users starts Excel without opening a file, it always opens an .xls file out of the c:\program files\Microsoft Office\Office\Library folder instead of opening a blank spreadsheet. Before calling me, she tried deleting the first one itwas opening, but the next time she started Excel, it opened the next .xls file in the Library folder. Is there a setting somewhere that tells it what document to use for it's blank new documents? Any other ideas of what's wrong? Thanks!

8 replies

by syscokid

Click on Tools, Options, General Tab, and make see if the Library folder is in Alternate startup folder location. If so, delete that entry.

Hope this helps!

by shanghai sam

I tried this on my own machine and really thought it would do it, but no luck. When the Library folder is an Alternate Startup Location, ALL files in the library folder open. On this machine, only the first one (alphabetically) opens. Delete that one and the next will open next time. I'm tempted to just delete them all.

by dklippert

c:\program files\Microsoft Office\Office\Library is the location for Add-ins. Normally they are "XLA" files and are hidden. Look in Tools>Add-Ins and see if you have one listed that is not needed.
To create your own "Blank" document, create a default workbook template and save it as a template (*.XLT). Save it in the XLStart folder or the alternate startup folder. Give the name of "book".

by mm212

The comment showed "User Deleted" for some reason. Rest assured it was me.

by maxwell edison

By default, Excel always creates a new workbook that contains three blank worksheets. These default settings are built into Excel, but they can be overwritten by simply creating a template file named book.xlt and placing it in the XLStart folder, or one of the folders specified below. If this template file exists, whenever you create a new workbook it is used as the default settings for the workbook. Whatever settings are in the template file will be placed in the new workbook you create. Excel looks for template files in the following locations:

C:\Windows\Profiles\user_name\Application Data\Microsoft\Templates

The XLStart folder, typically located in C:\Windows\Profiles\user_name\Application Data\Microsoft\Excel\XLStart

The location you specified at the Tools -> Options -> General tab.

If you have some standard workbooks to open each time you run Excel, you can do so by saving your workspace in the XLStart folder. To do so, open the desired workbooks and select File ->Save Workspace to save them in the XLStart folder. Anything that Excel finds in this location will open each time you run Excel.

And, although this is not directly related to your question but it does involve how Excel is started, you might also be interested in looking at Microsoft article Q211481 titled, "Startup Switches for Microsoft Excel 2000"

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q211481

(REMOVE SPACES from the pasted URL)

Maxwell

This discussion is closed to new replies.