Discussion Locked

W2K Pro- delete old admin & add new

0 helpful
3 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

Hi all-

I have to say that although I have W2K on a PC here, I have never set up any sort of user network as I've been the only one using it all this time.

I'm now trying to help a friend, in a non-prof office, get a Dell going that had been tagged as "non-working". I have it running fine- but the old admin (no longer working there) is the only logon & she'd like to have that gone & a simple "anyone can use it" user placed back on it.

So far, I did "manage" (slight pun) to add the new user as "user" & "admin" under local users & groups. I logged in as the new user & see that I have a new, fresh desktop.

At this point, can I merely delete the old user/admin from the user list? Or do I need to do something else first? I'd like all bits of that old user to be gone when I'm done. They were the only user up until the system "failed".

I read a few articles speaking to copying over a profile to the default profile- but I'm clueless at what that's for? I appear to have a desktop & new user so what's it all about? Or does that not apply here?

Please, any help would truly be appreciated- a walkthrough or similar step-by-step, preferred. I really would love to give this PC back so they can just plug it in & have no issues,

Tracy

3 replies

by mrjay67

Well, for one you want to make sure you have an ID/user with ADMIN rights. If you want to delete the original account you can do so but just make sure you have an ID that will let you manage the PC and is an administrator(it may be that it wont delete the original admin login but should be able to rename and still delete the profile). there are 2 places to delete users/accounts. One is the actual login account that you described under local users and groups. The next place to look is for that users profile. Look under Documents and Settings and you should see the profile folders there. You will have to be using a different/new ADMIN account to do this. You will not be able to delete a profile you are currently using/logged in as.

As for the Default profile thing, the idea there is to have a dummy/default user that you set up to have the desktop, network printer and other profile specific items the way you want. After that login as the Admin account. Right click My Computer -> Properties -> User Profiles tab(W2K).(WXP you will select Advanced Tab). Click the default user you created and configured and hit copy to. Browse to the "Default User" profile and say ok. Select the Default user folder only, no further no less. If you only use 1 generic user this wont matter much and may not apply. But if you decide to have multiple accounts this will have all new accounts copy setting from "Default User" profile the first time they login. Existing accounts will not get the settings unless you delete their profile.

Post back if you need more info.
HTH

Jason, CNA

by tracyf

Thanks, Jason. I seem to make more of things than I need to.

I still find it odd that you overwrite a default (as that has always meaned, to me, something you DON'T tamper with?).

Funny how even the simplest things, when really written down & explained, turn into a scroll of instructions?

50 pts. to you & thanks again.

Tracy

This discussion is closed to new replies.