Question
May 1, 2007 at 09:49 AM
fahimdxb

Welcome to Workgroup?

by fahimdxb . Updated 19 years, 5 months ago

We all have seen this message when we detach our XP Pro machines from a domain or the usual message of ‘welcome to abc domain’ when we attach.

Till now I was under the impression that when we detach a workstation from a domain, if would automatically cease to show in ‘Computers and Users’ mmc but that’s not so. At a clients place, I see that there are 3000 odd computers listed under ‘Computers’ OU while originally there are only about 2000.
I did a test of detaching a computer from the domain and observed that the name still shows after 48 hours.

It’s a Windows 2003 SP1 DC. Is it normal? How can I filter and delete all the names of the computers that no longer exist on the network?
Seems like, helpdesk guys are just plugging the network cable out of the PC and re-imaging the new image for years leading to about a 1000 extra PCs within my AD.

Pls advise.

This discussion is locked

All Comments