Discussion Locked

Windows 2000 migration/profiles

0 helpful
6 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

I am converting from a NT4 domain(domainname) to a separate 2000 domain(domain-name),notice the "-". I'm looking for tips on how to do a few things:

1. Keep the user profiles from the domain domainname and use them with the new domain domain-name. The profiles are stored locally on Windows 2000 Pro desktops, I have tired copying the folders, but this does not work very well.

2. Moving Exchange 5.5 mailboxes/Public folders to a separate Exchange 2000 server.

Any help would be great!!! Thanks, Bill

6 replies

by craig it mangaer

For the locally stored profiles you will have to have an account to assign it to. And in fact what you may have to do is wait until they logon once under the "new" user name and then transfer the profile through the Control Panel, System, User profiles tab. Copy the old profile into the new folder and then change the permissions to the "new" user account. You can also use this process to transfer information into the allusers or default users profiles for certain levels of standardization for printers start menu etc.

by basher

Your answer was very close, so I am awarding you the points. Thanks for the reply!!

by ovidiu

1.If you use the ADMT, the user profiles will be kept, without having to copy them. When you move the users, groups and computers, the first time the user logs on, the password expired window appears, and after changing password, he will be able to work on the same profile he had before.
2.Regarding the second question, you should consult Technet to see what you could do.

by basher

I figured out how to copy the profiles over. Here is what you do:
Login as Admininstrator
Copy the current users profile as the Default User profile.
Login as user under new domain.
Users old profile is now used for the same user under a different domain.
Now, log back in as Admin and copy the Administrator profile back to the Default User, this way if a different user logs in, they will not get the previous users profile.
Works Great!!

This discussion is closed to new replies.