Question Locked

"copy or move Thumbs.db?"

0 helpful
5 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

I do a lot of file transfers. Often a large transfer gets hung up on the "Do you want to copy or move Thumbs.db?" question. I read the advice here as to how you can prevent the thumbs.db from being created however, doing a lot of photography work, I suspect that if I prevent the thumbs.db from being written it may slow down the workflow.

Is there a way to prevent the alert from coming up while still allowing thumbs.db to be written? Can you allow the file to be "copied or moved" by default?

5 replies

by thumbsup2

The file is a small database of thumbnail images so that you can view a particular folder in thumbnail view. If you move it, it is no longer accurate for the folder it sits in (corrupt) and will simply re-generate itself in the folder you took it out of.

If you are FTP'ing files to a server, just don't upload that file. Especially if the server is Unix based because it can't use that file anyway. It's a Windows "thang". ;)

by captbilly1eye

Hide the Thumbs.db files so they are not selected when transferring the contents of a folder. By hiding them, they will not be selected when you 'Select All' and 'Copy.'

Open My Computer, open the Tools menu, select Folder Options, click the View tab, put a dot in front of 'Do Not Show Hidden Files and Folders,' and lastly click on the Apply and OK buttons.

by thechas

The first question is, do you use the thumbnail view when you open or explore your folders?

If the answer is no, then allowing the thumbs.db file to be created slows your system down and uses unnecessary disk space.

Check out this article:
http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article03-204

As far as not copying the file, you can get some relief if you change the windows explorer setting for system and hidden files to hide those files.
You should no longer grab thumbs.db when you copy files from a folder. But, it will still move when you copy or move a folder.

I'm sure that there is a registry hack that can disable the confirm copy or move dialog. I do not know the registry intimately enough to tell you what key to modify.

Chas

by brucelparsons

Thank you. Failing being able to make Windows copy/move thumbs.db with out confirmation by default, I will take Chas's advice and turn off the caching of thumbnails so as to prevent them from being written (as per the referenced article at annoyances.org). I see if it has any negative effect on my workflow dealing with photographs.

This discussion is closed to new replies.