General discussion
December 31, 2002 at 12:09 AM
authorship

Delete old OS after W2K clean install?

by authorship . Updated 23 years, 9 months ago

I upgraded an old laptop to W2K Pro that was running Win98se, using the recommended “clean install” option. The user is now comfortable with W2K and has all data and apps ported to the new environment.

Now to recover disk space, how do I go backand remove the Win98 OS without losing any user data and apps? W2K knew the userID was already on the system and the person’s data shows up in W2K. Doing a search for a file seems to show one copy but in two profiles. I need to get rid of Win98 but not the user data if possible. Otherwise I will back it up and start fresh from a formatted drive. Thanks!

This discussion is locked

All Comments