Method 2: To Prevent Drawing Objects and Pictures from Printing or Previewing
Use this method when you don't want your drawing objects and pictures to appear in print preview or to print, but you do want them to appear in print layout or Web layout view. 1. On the Tools menu, click Options.
2. On the Print tab, clear the Drawing objects check box, and then click OK.
3. On the File menu, click Print Preview. The drawing objects and pictures in your document should not appear.
4. On the Print Preview toolbar, click Close. When Word returns you to your previous view (print layout or Web layout view), the drawing objects and pictures in your document will not appear.
NOTE: This is the problem described in the "Symptoms" section of this article and is a known problem in Word 2000.
5. On the View menu, click Normal.
6. On the View menu, click either Print Layout or Web Layout. This change of view refreshes the document, and the drawing objects and pictures in your document will now appear.
Back to the top
MORE INFORMATION
Word displays pictures in any view when the wrapping style of the picture is set to In line with text. When the wrapping style is set to a different style, pictures are displayed only in print layout or Web layout view.
To change the wrapping style of a picture, use the following steps: 1. Click to select the picture.
2. On the Format menu, click Picture.
3. On the Layout tab, select one of the wrapping styles and then click OK.
There are several other options in Word that may prevent your picture from appearing when a wrapping style (other than In line with text) is selected. On the Tools menu, click Options to set the options as indicated in the following table.
Option
Setting
Drawings
On the View tab, click to select Drawings.
Picture Placeholders
On the View tab, click to clear the Picture placeholders check box.