Discussion Locked

Phantom User licenses

0 helpful
9 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

When we check the license manager we notice that users we have deleted,(terminated employees)are still appearing to be using a license.
Any suggestions to what's going on ?

9 replies

by dc1

Not really any thoughts just a suggestion. Disable the License service on your servers. Unfortunately this service is more of a headache than a help.

by campbell

I have had the same thing happen to me. I just went in and deleated the old users with the licenses and there was no problems...by the way how are you set up for DHCP? because I am wondering if there is a conection between your problem and having "infinite lease" for DHCP leases.

by jaystar

The ugly truth is that delteing the user does not delete them from the license manager. Even if you revoke the license from the PDC in License Manager, you will be unable to remove them if you have more then one server. The second (or rest of your multiple, I have 13) server will gleefully replicate it's ENTIRE usage database back to the PDC, and wham.. the deleted users are back in the license manager.

What we have to do is follow this Knowledge Base article for each member server first,then the BDC's, and finally the PDC.

KB-Q185953

This should rid you of your problems. (I hope).

Jay Starling

by mteff

We've had the same problem. Every so often I use this KB Article to reset License Manager in the entire domain.
How to Reset License Manager Throughout an Enterprise. KB# Q194065

This discussion is closed to new replies.