4 replies
by scramble Accepted solution
by cg it Accepted solution
have to reboot the computer when changing to a domain or another workgroup for the change to take effect. There's a popup window that says this. If a computer still belongs to the old workgroup when its membership was changed to a new workgroup, someone didn't reboot it.
Note: The default install workgroup name is "Workgroup". That doesn't mean that computer has membership in a group of computers in the workgroup named workgroup. A mistake some techs make which is why changing the workgroup name to something different is a wise choice.
I would start from scratch, change the workgroup name to something other than workgroup to ensure all workstations belong to the same workgroup. you can migrate user profiles over to the new workgroup so they all have their old desktops and preferences.
by scramble Accepted solution
by cg it Accepted solution
workgroups work like domains. you can join them them and to unjoin from them you have to join something else. There's no go back or revert.
The default install workgroup is named Workgroup. However what that does is isolate the computer from others on the network [the workgroup acts as a security boundry]. So if you have other comps you need file folder sharing and map drives, you have to join the workgroup they are in.
This discussion is closed to new replies.
Trending Software posts
Sort by Trending