Hi all-
I have to say that although I have W2K on a PC here, I have never set up any sort of user network as I’ve been the only one using it all this time.
I’m now trying to help a friend, in a non-prof office, get a Dell going that had been tagged as “non-working”. I have it running fine- but the old admin (no longer working there) is the only logon & she’d like to have that gone & a simple “anyone can use it” user placed back on it.
So far, I did “manage” (slight pun) to add the new user as “user” & “admin” under local users & groups. I logged in as the new user & see that I have a new, fresh desktop.
At this point, can I merely delete the old user/admin from the user list? Or do I need to do something else first? I’d like all bits of that old user to be gone when I’m done. They were the only user up until the system “failed”.
I read a few articles speaking to copying over a profile to the default profile- but I’m clueless at what that’s for? I appear to have a desktop & new user so what’s it all about? Or does that not apply here?
Please, any help would truly be appreciated- a walkthrough or similar step-by-step, preferred. I really would love to give this PC back so they can just plug it in & have no issues,
Tracy