1 reply
by beermonster
Hi,
This seems to be a day of confusing questions...
I'm assuming that your workstation is locking the user session, such that you are seeing the 'press ctrl alt delete to unlock this workstation' prompt. In this scenario, the user is still actually logged on, the workstation just wants you to re-enter the users password and username to confirm that you are the same user before it will give you access to the session. No domain prompt is visible because the workstation ALREADY knows the users domain - it got that info when the user initially logged on. The only difference this would make to a remote reboot is if you where using some interactive remote control software (such as vnc). In that case, you would see the screen as it appears on the local monitor, in it's locked condition. Unless you provide either the correct username and password of the logged in user, or of an administrator, you will not be allowed access to the interactive session. To reboot a machine remotely, useshutdown.exe from the reskit. Hope this helps....
This discussion is closed to new replies.
Trending Windows Forum posts
Sort by Trending