Discussion Locked

Exchange 5.5

0 helpful
7 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.
Here is what my problem is. After I view my email and it is still in my inbox, exchange resends it as if it were a new message. When I look in my inbox the mail that has already has been read is there as if it were new mail(in bold print). I'm not sure what has changed to cause this to happen, but it is really starting to get annoying!

7 replies

by darrens

My first responce to this is to ask is there a duplicate copy of the email, or is your mail client simply not marking a message as read.

If you are using outlook 2000, and using the preview pane to read your messages, then make sure that tools>options>other>preview pane> mark messages as read is selected.

I cannot rember where is located in the other mail clients, but should be in the same area.

Hope this helps

by darrens

My first responce to this is to ask is there a duplicate copy of the email, or is your mail client simply not marking a message as read.

If you are using outlook 2000, and using the preview pane to read your messages, then make sure that tools>options>other>preview pane> mark messages as read is selected.

I cannot rember where is located in the other mail clients, but should be in the same area.

Hope this helps

by ugotdave

Make sure that there is no Rules setup to send your mail to another Inbox or something to that effect. Another thing I do at the Help Desk is to delete the mail profile and add it back again, then add back your .pab, .ost, .pst files again if you had any. Remember that the items in your inbox, sent, calendar, ect should reside on the exchange server, this is how you can remove a profile and add it back and keep all your data i.e. emails ect...

To remove your Profile goto control panel and find the "mail" or "mail and fax" icon. Double click it and find the Profiles dialog. Then once you find your Profile check the properties and write down the exchange server that you?re connected to. Once you've done that remove the profile and add it back. It's a bit confusing at first, if you need help with the profile email me.

Hope this helps? And have a Happy Holiday

Ugotdave

This discussion is closed to new replies.