Discussion Locked

Permission's Stumper

0 helpful
14 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.
Not sure if this is even possible. I want to assign permissions to a folder that will enable users to create new documents and modify existing documents but prevent them from deleting these same documents. I have played around with the permissions and I cannot get this to occur. Any help would be much appreciated.

14 replies

by rapidad

Hello, a few questions first:
1. Is this across a network? lan or wan?
2. what if any server are you running??
3. client os'es?? no's of??
4. will this folder reside locally on the client boxes or is it shared across the network??

let us know.............

by shathaway

1. Across a Network..WAN.
2. Currently we have a NT DC but the files reside on a Windows 2000 Advanced Server machine.

3. Windows 2000
4. Shared

by shmaltz

On the security tab click advanced select the user that you want to deny them the delete (add them if they are not there). Click on allow full contorl, click on deny delete, and deny delete files and subfolders. This way they will have full permissions but will not be allowed to delete any files/folders once it has been created.

by erikdr

All fine, but this won't work easily with tools like MS-Word for Windows. What WinWord does when MODIFYING a document (something you definitely want to allow) is:
1. Copy document to tempfile
2. Modify tempfile
3. Either rename old document to .BAK (option) or delete immediately.
4. Rename tempfile to documentname.

And through your settings, step 3 would fail and hence the whole modification. Excel however is easier, as it works 100% in-memory and overwrites upon storing. But even with Excel sometimes tempfiles are needed and these cannot be deleted which would sooner or later crash Excel.

At your service,

- The Netherlands

by shaunjanzen

What you want to do is probably not possible. The reason being if a user is able to modify a document they must have delete rights.

The reason for this is that when you save the modified document the actual operation of saving an existing document deletes the unmodified one and creates a new file with the changes you have made, although it is transparent to the user.

I do not have any documentation to back this up so if anyone out there does please let us know.

by shmaltz

Sorry, but you are wrong. If you do what I told you they should not be able to delete. Since a deny setting is always the one setting that will prevail. I tested it and it worked for me.
When you follow my instructions make sure:
1. That you checkthe box in advanced that says: "Reset permission on all child objects"
2. Uncheck the box that says: "Allow inhertible permissions from parent to propegate" and click copy on the question it asks.

by psyadi

Hey there!!

NewYorker211 is correct in what he says, albeit slightly confusedly.

If you right click on the folder you want to set permissions for then choose Properties
-Click on the Security tab and then the ADVANCED button that is in that tab.
-Uncheck "allow inheritable permissions from parent to propgate to this object" box. It will ask you if you wish to Copy, Remove or Cancel the permission changes. Choose Copy and all current permissions will remain and you will be able to editthem.
-Click Apply (dont click OK)
-Now highlight the Everyone group or whatever group of users you want to modify the permissions for.
-Click on the "View/Edit" button to take you to advanced editing. All the options here should now be editable.
-Scroll down the list to the two check boxes that are entitled "Delete" & "Delete Subfolders & Files"
-You can do two things here. First is to remove the "Allow" check box options.
- The second is to check the "Deny" option, which will create asecond set of permission rules.
Click OK till you are back to Win Explorer.
Both options work equally well. If these instructions are followed then your users will be able to create and modify but not delete the files.
If they still can delete files you may want to check that you dont have users in the Administrators Group that shouldnt be there.

Regards
Psyadi

This discussion is closed to new replies.