Discussion Locked

Prevent users from deleting desktop shor

0 helpful
6 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

I have locked down a machine as tightly as I can thru gpedit but I still have the problem that I need to place shortcuts in all desktops and I encounter that some of my users will delete them. Since I placed the shortcuts in the "all users\desktop" folder any time somebody deletes a shortcut it's gone for everybody.
How can I deny permission to users to delete those shortcuts? I tried changing permissions at the folder level but that didn't seem to work...

6 replies

by oz_media

Is it really your job to babysit those who can't obey an office policy? Just lay down the law and put it in writing for everyone to read, sign and return to you stating that they understand office computer policies and agree to them.

At this point, if someone deletes EVERYBODY's desktop icon, they'll have to wait until welfare day before meeting you all after work for drinks.

by oz_media

Is it really your job to babysit those who can't obey an office policy? Just lay down the law and put it in writing for everyone to read, sign and return to you stating that they understand office computer policies and agree to them.

At this point, if someone deletes EVERYBODY's desktop icon, they'll have to wait until welfare day before meeting you all after work for drinks.

by brian158

Have you tried to lock the computer down to where the only thing they could do is log on to the network? Once they log onto the network all info is stored onto the servers. What I am trying to say is that the computers are just a gateway onto the network. Everything is being done via the network drive. The user can not save anything to the desktop just to the network drive. I have done this before when I worked for another company. But that is what they wanted. It is like a roaming profile. It is a little time consuming to do but it is possible. To be honest I can not remember how I had done it. But if had to do it again probable could do it on the fly.

by cg it

change the offenders profile to a mandatory profile. When they log off, changes are not saved which means they can delete the shortcut when they are logged on but that isn't saved when they log off. When they log on again, the shortcut is there. If you know who they are, when they are logged on, send em a admin message that says "Naughty Naughty" sometime. That ought to get their attention.

Another is to disable changing the desktop in group policy[ with the assumption that this is a W2KServer network with AD ].

This discussion is closed to new replies.