Discussion Locked

Excel 2000 invalid page fault excel.exe

0 helpful
64 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

When start excel get an error -
Excel caused an Invalid page fault in module excel.exe at 017f:30026d69 - then hex dump

I have un-installed and re-installed office 2000 - ran registry checks anti-virus - did remove a jd/trojan virus - still geterror -
all other office 2000 prof apps run fine.

searched MS knowledge base - no luck

any help.......

Thank you

64 replies

by dklippert

Try starting Excel with:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\Excel.exe" /s
This starts Excel in Safe mode. ("Safe Mode" will appear in the Excel title bar.) Safe mode starts Excel as if it is the first time after Setup.
Safe mode bypasses all files in any Excel startup folder.

There is a mention of the 017f error at technet.microsoft.com

Q211803
But it is pretty remote:
?Page Fault Printing to Generic/Text Only Printer?

by tomp

Excel started fine but what will fix it permantly - by starting in safemode each time - settings are not saved

Thanks for the start

Any other Help??????

by dklippert

Since Excel starts with the /s switch, I would take a look at the XLStart folder. Rename or remove anything you find in there.
(Program Files/Microsoft Office/Office/XLStart.

by tomp

The xlstart folder is empty - no luck same error

Thanks again...

Any more ideas?????

by mike (from canada)

the virus probably has done something to your system that made it malfunction. try using the uninstall utility and uninstall EVERYTHING related to excel. in fact, uninstall everything related to office. Run scandisk and defrag and fix any errors youfind. then re-install the software.

by tomp

I uninstalled ms office - ran norton system works 2001 - fixed all errors - ran scandisk - norton disk doctor - defraged also - reinstalled ms office - same error - also checked for viruses again - none.

I am avoiding re-loading win 98.

thanks for your help

Any other ideas????---this is a real stumper.....

by curacao_dejavu

Use this tool to completely uninstall office 2000.

MS KB Article ID: Q239938

SUMMARY
A utility that helps you completely remove Microsoft Office 2000 is available from Microsoft. The Office 2000 CD1 File and Registry Eraser Utility removes most of the files and Windows registry settings that remain on the computer after you remove Office. This utility is designed to be used on stand-alone computers or workstations. You should not use this utility to completely clean a working copy of Office from a computer. You should only run this utility after you run the Setup program for Office 2000 and click Remove Office.

Leopold

by tomp

Removed office then ran utlity
re-installed office and same problem

Thanks for your help

Any other ideas???????

by dklippert

Have you checked what appears under Tools>Add Ins? and is there an alternate start up directory? (Tools>Options)

by compuexprs

Hmmmm...

Safe mode, runs programs with the minimal amount of drivers and resources needed. So I would beleive that is the source of the problem. Use the msconfig tool to load a selective startup. Try loading indivudually driver by driver, until you find the one causing the problem. If you have Windows 2000, you can copy the msconfig tool from XP or W98, and run it. It will work fine.

With this tool, you can disable everything and anything. Something is causing a conflict, because you can boot up excel in safe mode. Try this...

Also, try installing it under a different folder name. That way, you are sure you don't have any old files which might be getting in the way.

Use MSCONFIG to find the driver, or command line causing the conflict!!! GOOD LUCK!!!

by joseph1

Try running a test on your ram check out mem98.com or others like it.

Excel might be accesing memory that is bad.

by matthew dally

A solution could be to remove any programs that you have installed since when the error started. It could be that a program you have installed is using a Visual Basic, VBA or Office DLL in its own program resulting in a conflict.

Try killing all applications running except for Explorer and Systray and then running Excel to see if it could be a memory problem like bad ram, but that could be a long shot.

by short fuse

I know I'm no fun. But call it. Wipe the slate clean. Save anything that needs saved and reformat, reinstall Windows et al. You are getting paid to do a job are you not?

by geo1

I would try removing and re-installing the Printer Drivers. These can cause some seemingly unrelated MS Office problems. I would next try to un-install Office then re-install to a new directory or second partition if available. Windows 98 also has a repair feature which will re-install files damaged via 98 Setup that might be damaged by the virus. Go to Antivirus.com and look up the particulars on what files the virus damages.

by durwood.g.twigg

An invalid page fault is common when you have 2 process trying too load at the same address at the same time kinda like good car wreck you know when two drivers ard determened too be in the same place at the same time some one is going too get there feelings hurt. What has too happen here is too boot the system in safe mode then check the device manager i belive you will fine at least 3 monotors ghosting in there ans probilly two or three floppy drives
remove those and reboot normaly let windows redetect the hardware ans set the monotor too plug & play then try excell again
hope this works for you

by meesha

If you're confident that the virus/registry issues are resovled and are still having problems with any MS application product, I have found in my experience that if I update (or reapply) my PC with the latest version of MDAC (I know this sounds bizarre), my problems disappear. It seems that the DLLs, OCX, et al are often at fault; modifying registry manually doesn't seem to do it because there are TOO many places for residuals/leftovers. Applications are created at different times using different versions of MDAC but updating to the latest seems to "fix" what ails. Hope this helps . . .

by mirkku

Have you seen Microsoft ID Q198935 and Q244165?

CAUSE
=====
This behavior occurs when both of the following conditions are true:

- You added the Page Break button to your main toolbar.

-and-

- You have one or more of the following add-ins installed:

- Analysis ToolPak

- Analysis ToolPak - VBA

- AutoSave

WORKAROUND
==========

Move the Page Break button from your main toolbar to another toolbar. To do
this, you must first rename the startup toolbar file.

In Microsoft Excel 2000, the toolbar file is usually named:

- Excel.xlb if your computer is not connected to a network or is not set up
with a logon prompt

-or-

- .xlb, where is your user logon name.

NOTE: Because there are several versions of Windows, the following steps may be
different on your computer. If they are, please consult your product
documentation to complete these steps.

To rename this toolbar file and modify your maintoolbar, follow these steps

1. Click Start, point to Find, and then click "Files or Folders".

2. In the Named box, type "*.xlb" (without the quotation marks).

3. Be sure the "Look in" box points to the root of your hard disk (usually drive
C).

4. Be sure the "Include subfolders" check box is selected.

5. Click Find Now.

6. After the file is found, right click the file; click Rename on the shortcut
menu, and name the file Test.xlb.

7. Start Excel and load the Test.xlb file. (You can drag the file from the Find
dialog box into Excel.)

8. Customize the main toolbar to remove the Page Break button.

9. Quit Excel.

When you quit Excel, it creates a new toolbar file that retains your previouscustom toolbar settings.

10. Delete the Test.xlb file.

by maxwell edison

This behavior occurs when you do the following:

In Excel, you open a file that is not in a Microsoft Excel workbook format.

You make a change in the file.

You click Exit on the File menu.

You click Yes to save changes to the file.
You choose to save the file with the same file name and location and click Yes to overwrite the existing file.

One of the following conditions occurs:

There is an error saving the file. For example, there is not enough disk space.

-or-

You click No when asked "Do you want to keep the workbook in this format?"

You click Save on the File menu.

-or-

You click Exit on the File menu, and then click Yes to save the file.

To resolve this problem, obtain Microsoft Office 2000 Service Release 1/1a (SR-1/SR-1a).

To obtain SR-1/SR-1a, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

Q245025 OFF2000: How to Obtain and Install Microsoft Office 2000 Service Release 1/1a (SR-1/SR-1a)

Source: Misrosoft article Q248167

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q248167

(REMOVE SPACES from the pasted URL)

Maxwell

by maxwell edison

.
.
An Invalid Page Fault can occur when an unexpected event has occurred in Windows, for example a program improperly attempted to use random access memory (RAM) or the virtual memory area is corrupted by a program, or a program is attempting to access data that is being modified by another program that is running.

More information in: Q286180: Invalid Page Fault Errors Occur in Windows

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q286180

Best of luck,

Maxwell

by mmcarthur

I advise that you Low level format your Hard disks and re-install everything (Sorry!). Unless you specifically have detailed knowledge of the behavour of, and therefore the damage caused by, the VIRUS program, you will just be "chasing your tail". AMicrosoft un-install does not remove everything. There are Shared Components which are left behind and are not written over during a re-install. Check out the "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared" directories. ~~~~~~:)-

by mbneb

You have much good help here, but you've spent too much time already. I'm with the others who suggest a new installation, BUT do that with a new hard drive, they're cheap compared to your time. Install only the OS and Excel if possible. If you still have problems it may be hardware - modem or other adapter - so remove them and try again. This gets you to a bare maching & install. Hope you still have hair when this is solved!

by sfaber

2 little words... clean install. All the time you've spent researching and trying fixes is like throwing darts at smoke. I call it 'digital voodoo'. Wipe the disc, reinstall win98, reinstall Office and it'll work.

by jscholz

You might try using a different copy of Office 2000 to install Excel.

I have seen rare cases where software does not run correctly, but when installed with different media, works fine.

Joe

by righteousfunk

I agree with jscholz. I have seen times where the media either wasn't wrote to correctly or it is damaged in some way that when the files are copied to the PC, they are corrupted. Try and get ahold of another copy of Office 2000.

by «/\/\ø|ö±ò\/»®©

Perhaps you could revert to a standard VGA video driver and see if that does the trick. If so, grab the latest drivers (or maybe some older drivers, if you were running the latest!) for your video card...

by marstinson

I'm going to side with compuexprs on this. If you're able to run in safe mode, then the problem is a conflict with something else trying to load at startup. The first thing to do is disable EVERYTHING at startup (essentially the same as Safe Mode). Reboot and see if the problem disappears. If so, enable each of the disabled items, individually and rebooting each time. If none of them causes a conflict, go back and start adding them two at a time; then three at a time, etc. Eventually you'll identify the startup item(s) causing the conflict and can leave them disabled. I'll grant that it's a tedious process, but it works.

by jader

Hi,

If your problem isn?t hardware related (you don?t have ANY problem with ANYONE program) I suggest you: (I think you have a broadband connection or this will be a slow process!)
1) do a Windows Update to bring you windows to most recent update with CRITICAL updates
2) try to update your Office to SR1a (or newer if exist to be sure do not fight a finished battle
3) Pray (or do a Ghost, reformat and reinstall)

if you still reading...

4) If you have acces to another computer IDENTICAL this one , you can try move the HDD to this exactly identical computer to be REALLY SURE your problem isn?t hardware!

Good luck to you!

by norwalker

Two possible solutions:
1. Try installing office from a different copy of Office 2000 CD
2. Verify system files are good, and replace any suspect files.

by timw1

Search for & rename any .xlb files. Excel keeps it's toolbar settings in that file, but It has a major effect on the Excel environment in general. Rename any you find & Excel will recreate them the next time it's launched. The .xlb files are usuallyNOT, repeat NOT, removed when you uninstall. They're usually in the form excel9.xlb or 9.xlb. HTH HAND,
Tim

by mehrdad_e

Reformat the hard disk and reinstall the OS and then install office, as I can see the problem is with OS not office.

by alderyn

I have had instances of Excel and other office apps causing faults similar to this and solved the problem by re-creating the log-on profile of the user.

by colby

Did you at any point in time install Microsoft Office patch SR-1a or the original SR-1? I had this problem with ALL office apps after installing the service pack. The solution was to do a full office uninstall, then manually go through the registry and remove keys related to Office, and manually delete the "office" folder from the HD (which the uninstall process does not do). Then reinstall "customized" version of Office (installing the Typical causes the same issue).

-Colby

by helpmedesk

Don't suppose there's a backup registry file from prior to the virus?? I'd definitely like to see the results of starting up Excel after replacing the registry with a version from before the virus.

by andy_tomlinson

This may sound a little stupid and maybe a little extreme but maybe try re-installing the drivers for some of your devices. If you have had a Virus/Trojan it could have affected anything as well as your office install. Could be the software for your devices conflicting with Office. Also (a complete pain!) take Office off completely, run the Eraser Tool. Delete any remaining folders (including the MS Shared), Run the MS Reg Clean tool and then run your Norton's. Scan your disks, Defrag, Virus Scan again and then do a complete installation of Office in a different directory. I know you have done these before but try it again! I have had similar problems and I managed to get rid of them!! Perseverance is the name of the game with these things!!

by jhollis

Are you using an email client that incorporates Office document management? We've had problems in the past with Novell Groupwise trying to incorporate document management features into office. This could explain why reinstalling software doesn't fix the issue. Just a thought!

by dominickgr

I would think that something from the virus is left over; causing the computer to run the program correctly in safe mode where the startup options are disabled. Check your "run=" and load=" lines in your win.ini and check HKEYLocalMachine,Software,Microsoft,Windows,CurrentVersion,Run,RunOnce,runOnceEx,runservices,and runservicesonce. If you see a path pointing to one of the previously found infected files, delete the value on the right. If you must, uninstall and then reinstall Excel.

This discussion is closed to new replies.