Question Locked

Excel 2000 sheet no display correctly in Excel 2003

0 helpful
5 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

Sheet created in Excel 2000 has list boxes and picture inserted from a file.
When opened in Excel 2003 the picture and list boxes do not show.
Macro is supposed to be running but I cannot find it.

The data for the list box can be seen when you unhide data area.

Compared the Excel options but do not see anything different.
Excel 2000 is running on PC with Windows 200 Pro.
Excel 2003 running on PC with Windows XP Pro

5 replies

by thumbsup2

In Excel 2003, click Tools -> Options -> Security Tab -> Macro Security. Set it to medium.

by rlphillips

Security is set to medium. I tried Low also. no luck.

by thumbsup2

If the macros were originally stored in a hidden workbook attached to the file you opened in Excel 2000, those hidden workbooks need to be in a different place in Excel 2003.

Open the file in Excel 2003, then click Window -> Unhide. Look for the other workbook to appear. Now click Window -> Hide and click Save. When you exit Excel, you will be asked if you want to save the hidden workbook as well. This will place a copy of the hidden workbook into the XLSTART folder where it belongs.

by chris910

I ran into similar problems and found that Lists where one of the main changes between 2000 and 2003. I found that when I switched versions I had to First Remove The List and then Reapply the list before using the spreadsheet.

I noticed that the Office 2007 compatibility pack has been released. This may be helpful in adding the capability of saving in the 2007 format from 2000 and 2003. Here is the link http://tinyurl.com/yqwlva

This discussion is closed to new replies.