Discussion Locked

Join the Microsoft Office Suite discussion

0 helpful
81 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.

This is the fifth discussion thread of our ongoing Microsoft Office Suite discussion, where you can post your Word, Excel, or Access questions, enter comments about our weekly Microsoft Office Suite e-newsletter, and offer suggestions for future tips.

Paste the following URLs into a browser to check out our previous discussions. (Please remove any superfluous spaces when you copy and paste these links.)

https://www.techrepublic.com.com/5208-6230-0.html?forumID=5&threadID=122381

https://www.techrepublic.com.com/5208-6230-0.html?forumID=5&threadID=130431

https://www.techrepublic.com.com/5208-6230-0.html?forumID=5&threadID=134380

https://www.techrepublic.com.com/5208-6335-0.html?forumID=5&threadID=137196

If you haven't subscribed to our free weekly Microsoft Office Suite e-newsletter, sign up today!
http://nl.com.com/acct_mgmt.jsp?brand=techrepublic

81 replies

by brucelparsons

VLOOKUP defalults to the next lowest vlookup_value if the vlookup_value looked for is not found. Is there a way to cause it to go to the next highest number instead?

by dblayney

The problem is what value of X to use. If it's too low then the second lookup will get the same value, too high and it could "overshoot". There is also the difficulty of handling the case where the value in A1 is greater than the highest value in H1:H10. In my opinion, this probelm can only be solved with Visual Basic but I would be very interested in being proved wrong.

by big paul

Word_ Extra TAB when updating a table of contents

I have a document which has a table of contents based on Heading 2 only.

This is nicely aligned

If I click OK to the update box "Word" inserts an additional tab into the table of contents space which messes with the format ~ pushes each line over the edge

If I manually delete the additional tab the alignment of the ToC reverts to the original layout.

The tab is NOT in the style {Heading 2]
I have scrolled through the document. I do not have a tab in that position within the document!

How do I tell Word not to add this tab when I update the ToC?

Regards Paul

by mzzoo

I have encountered the same problem as you have described above. Check to make sure that Tools -Autocorrect Options - AutoFormat As You Type - the bottom 3rd of the tab, Automatically As You Type -make sure that all 3 boxes are checked. This resolved my issue and I hope that it does yours.

by beezee

While I appreciate the MS Office Suite newsletter, I was wondering if anyone besides me is interested in PowerPoint tips. I certainly have a lot to learn about this application. Anyone from Tech Republic listening?

TIA

by roykendrick

I too would be interested in a PowerPoint tips discussion. I've been wondering if it could be used to email family photos for genealogy purposes and could narrative be added? Would this be simpler than using it to create a CD? I've not attempted it yet.

by blueknight

Sure, using PowerPoint to e-mail family photos with or without narrative(s) would be easy. My sister went to Hawaii two years ago and took photos of the schoolhouse where our grandfather was Principal (and where our father was a student), along with many other interesting sights. She e-mailed me a PowerPoint presentation with her photos in it and comments for each shot so I'd know what I was looking at.

If you're going to send the presentation to someone who doesn't have PowerPoint, you can create a presentation file that contains the viewer (a .PPS file). That way folks without PowerPoint can still view your presentation. Instructions on how to do this can be found in the PowerPoint help facility. Be sure to try it out before you send the file to them to be sure it works properly.
Kinda funny... I'm the only one of us "kids" born in Hawaii and I've never been back since we moved here when I was 3.

by ray_luke

Ichanged the back ground to light blue,every print but the blue back ground. ???
Luke

by vanessaj

BlueKnight is right. And PPT does email well...but you have to watch out for what some call "PowerPoint bloat". Graphics/pictures are larger files than text files by far and once you put them into PPT, it can become a rather large attachment. Make certain that your email client - and the email client of the recipient can handle the size attachment you are going to send. If it is large, burning a CD and snail-mailing it may be prefereable for you. ALSO, I always use the "Package for CD" in the File menu and remember that you can use "Options" and "Add Files" for further customization of how and when you want your presentation to play. Adding simple narration is pretty easy if you have a microphone at: Insert > Movies & Sounds > Record Sound. You can also add a soundtrack to play throughout the entire presentation (all slides). Good luck and have fun!

by funtoknow

I have used PowerPoint occassionally. I used it a little more often when they had a better org chart tool than the very basic one included with 2003 (better off using Visio).

Ove the years I have collected quite a number of "tips" I am willing to share.

"An eye-catching animation on a PowerPoint slide is to have the text "type in" as though it were being typed on a typewriter. PowerPoint even provides the typewriter sound for you!

To check this out, open a blank slide and click the Text Box button in the Drawing toolbar (its icon looks like a printed sheet with a large A on its upper-left-hand corner). Add some text to the Text Box. Next, right-click the Text Box and choose Custom Animation.

When the Custom Animation dialog box opens, click the arrow at the right side of the Introduce Text list box and select
By Letter. Now, click the top list box under "Entry animation and sound" and select Appear from the list. Expand the second list box and select Typewriter as your sound."

by vanessaj

I'm listening (in the words of Frazier Crane). I would be happy to engage in a PPT tips dialog. Did you have questions/issues? Or just want to chat about the really cool PPT 2003?

by foreigner

[Office 2000:]
The lack of "smooth scrolling" in Excel and Outlook Contacts (phonebook view) bugs me. Thankfully, it is implemented in Word.

In case I should not name the technical property correctly, not being a Windows programmer, I mean the behaviour where the frame's contents move while the scroll box moves, rather than afterwards.

by aakash shah

I use Office 2003 for my personal use. Unfortunately, when I add a new contact, the phone number field names it offers me are "1. Business, 2. Home, 3. Business Fax, 4. Mobile" How can I change the default field names that appear so that I can get something like "1. Home, 2. Mobile, etc." Also, is there a way to add new fields to this list, such as "Mobile 2"? I would like to have the address default to Home rather than business. Any helpl with this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

by krkuehne

I'm not totally familiar with Office 2003, but in XP you can change the "fields" for your address information [business, home, other] as well as changing how your phone numbers appear. You need to click on the drop down buttons located by each one. However, I do not know if it possible to have it set as a default - as I just change mine based on the information I'm entering.

by imaer

How you ask
In Outlook, select Tools > Forms > Design a Form. From the list select 'contacts'. Redesign to your heart's content. Be sure you are happy with your changes before you save.
If the 'Field chooser' pop up is not on screen, click 'Form' > 'field chooser' and you will see an option 'New'. This will create new fields for you. Of course you could just modify the existing labels and problem solved.
Give it a go using the help options built in to Office.

by ewarden1

It appears that if you add a new field that you can change the displayed name but if the field is an original field that you can't. I selected the E-mail field and properties and it allowed me to edit by when selecting "Apply" the name reverted back to the original. I can see why the field name should not be changed but why the caption?

by georgewpg

The tip regarding copying of text box formatting from one box to another suggests a multi-step process to copy formatting, repeating the whole process for every additional box. By DOUBLE clicking the format painter button, it stays selected, and one can click field after field until all the desired format copying is done. To end the process, either press the ESC key, or click on the format painter button once more.

This trick works on other Office applications as well.

by kbo

We have an Access 2002 database on a network share. The calculation fields stopped working a week ago, but if the database file is copied to a computer's C: drive and opened from there, then the calculation fields do work. Any ideas of what would cause the fields to stop working in the copy of the database on the network share? The permissions on the share give complete read/write access to all who use the database.
Thanks for any suggestions for troubleshooting.

by shane.freman

I have had the same problem in a database I was working on for a customer. As near as we could tell it had something to do with the amount of people that were working in the database as any given point in time. My solution was to divide the database into a FrontEnd version (containing all the forms, queries and reports) and a BackEnd version (containing just the tables). Put the front end on everyone's local machine and put the backend on the server. Then simply open the front end and link all the tables from the back end. This may slow down your data entry and querying but it solved a majority of our technical issues.

by kbo

Thanks, I'll look into this. I'm not sure about how to set this up, but hopefully someone else at my office with more Access experience will know what to do to test this.

by gm forsythe

As a rule, calculated fields in a table are more trouble than they're worth. Most database designers would advise putting these into a query.

Splitting the database as suggested by the previous respondent, is of course a very necessary step. The only caveat to the suggestion of putting the "front end" on numerous workstations is that it is a bear to maintain. I generally put one front end on the server and let everyone use that. This way, if something goes wrong, or a refinement is needed, it's much easier to do. Of course, if each user has different needs, then you WILL need numerous front ends.

by livewire^

It would be nice to be able to pick the location of where Excel is printing to file on a file to file basis as opposed to having all files go to the "General" save location.

Thanks

by scot

Desperately annoyed with Microsoft Knowledge Base Article - 203488, stating that normal.dot file corruption error is a direct result of opening too many instances of Word too quickly (article refers to 97, but same for 2000, which I'm running). Any (new) bright ideas? Say, a hack to open all (like 5) docs in one instance of Word?

by mddm

Word provides a complete file management system as part of Word. One of the features of this system is that you can quickly load multiple documents in one easy step. To do this, follow these steps:

Click on the Open tool on the toolbar, or choose Open from the File menu. This displays the Open dialog box.

Instead of double-clicking on a file name, start to create a "selection set." If you are selecting sequential files, click on the first file in the sequence, then hold the SHIFT key as you click on the last. You can add additional files to those selected by holding down the CTRL key while clicking with the mouse.

To remove files from the selection set, hold down the CTRL key while clicking on a file name you previously added to the set.

When you are satisfied with the list, click on Open.

by atcollege

If you want to close all the documents that you've opened without going to File, Close (or other ways) for each one, hold down your SHIFT key while clicking the File menu. You will see Close All listed. Click Close All and they all close at once.

by olsenbanden2

In Works 2000 I could click on print in any og the works programs and the printer would wake up and start to print. Now in Office 2003 Pro. it works in all programs except in Word. Has anyone had the same problem.
John

by mddm

Printing problems in Microsoft Office Word 2003 can be specific to particular documents and templates. Create a new document and try. If this does not print close Word and rename the normal.dot to normal.old, open Word and try again.

by olsenbanden2

Thanks for your suggestion. I tried that but it still does not wake the printer up. I stil have to "wake" it up for the document to print.

by shane.freman

Is there a quick fix to recalculating the last occupied cell in a worksheet. For example, if you type something in C16, hit Ctrl+Home to return to A1, then Ctrl+End it will take you to C16. If you then delete the information in C16, hit Ctrl+Home to return to A1, then Ctrl+End again, it still takes you to C16. Why does it do this and aside from closing the file and reopening, how can you fix it?

by kbo

Is there an easy way to reply to a large number of individual messages with just one message sent to all the Senders? A user has about 1000 messages in an Outlook folder, wants to send one message to all the senders, but doesn't want to have to add each sender to his Contacts, make a distribution list, etc. When a group of messages is selected, the Reply buttons are greyed out.

by kbo

I found I could use Outlook's Import/Export tool to export the senders' e-mail addresses from the Outlook mail folder into an Excel file. Then I created a new Outlook Contacts folder and imported from the Excel file into the new Contacts folder. With that Contacts folder open, I could use Outlook's MailMerge from the Tools menu to merge a message with the e-mail addresses in my new Contacts folder.

by atcollege

Once you have the contact's email addresses in Excel, you can copy the range containing the email addresses. Then start a new message in Outlook, display the BCC line and paste the addresses there. Once pasted, remove any non-email address text. Using the BCC line prevents the looooonnngggg To: information from showing.

by olsenbanden2

I opened documents that I have saved in my documents folder, and they have pictures and clipart insert on the documents. Now I can not see the clipart or pictures any more when I open the documents, but if I print the document out they are on the printout.
I even tried to reinstall my Office XP 2002 Small buisiness Version, without any change.
Can any one help me with a solution.

by olsenbanden2

I made a clean install of OS (Win XP Home) and all other programs and now it works again. If anyone know what happened I would like to hear from them.
Thank you
John

by gmlusby

The reason for pics not showing could be that you had "Picture Placeholders" box checked under Tools, Options, View. (That is where it is in Word 2000.)
If checked, pic frame margin will show on screen but not picture. It will print with picture though. Sounds like this is what happened maybe.
Greg

by Member 34408539

I have a user with an old excel work sheet brought forward from as far back as 1992. It contains records of amounts given to different individuals. It has each individual listed separatley with totals at the bottom of each individuals section. It has on the left of the row numbers another column with what appears to be able to toggle between hide the contents and just view the totals or to view all the entries.
There is not a right click menu for this added column. at the top of the column are two buttons one that hides all the data exdept the totals and the other that shows all the data. Each individual has a plus sign left of the row # for that idividual. this will open and close the view of just that individual. The file has no known macros associated. This is very difficult to explain. I do not know how this was accomplished. Is this an excel tool or has someone monkied with the code. If someone can lead me in the rigth direction I would be very greatful

by rick_from_bc

In Excel under the menu DATA, there is a subtotal function.
What you describe sounds pretty much like that.

Good luck.

by dblayney

The same effect can be created manually by using the Group and Outline function (Data:Group and Outline:Group to do it the hard way or use Auto Outline for the easy option). Used either with the SUBTOTAL function or the AutoSum the same effect as described in the original post can be achieved.

by atcollege

Isn't it fun inheriting old work? If that extra column on the left side has +'s down the left and at the top of that extra column numbers like 1, 2, 3, that will contract or expand each group, you most likely have Subtotals turned on. In order to turn them off, click in any raw data cell, then click on the Data menu and select Subtotals... and in the resulting dialog box, click Remove All. Ahhhh.

by deadhead '59

The Data menu is the right direction, but you need to use the group and ungroup commands. If you highlight the rows under your "heading row" (the one you want to stay visible all the time) then click Data\Group and Outline\Group, it will add the plus sign and show the grouped rows with a bracket. Very handy feature!

by rick_from_bc

dblaney, you are right - this is a quick shot at solving the
problem. I tried it out with several scenarios, and the
results were good if the table was 'regular' - the values
stepped up in fixed increments. This solution didn't work
for irregular expressions n a consistent manner, as you
pointed out.

However, I did get feedback from the original poster, and it
worked for him. C'est la vie!

Sometimes, a cigar is only a cigar.

by mathtchr

We would like to create an Access 2000 database and use that data to create mailing labels and form letters for all entries or selected entries in that data. Any good training materials would be appreciated.

by retiredteacher

The easiest way to print labels in Access 2K is to use the Access Label wizard.

1. Create a Select Query to choose your labels. Save your query as qryLabelsForWhatever.
2. Go to forms object and click New; Label Wizard. Be sure to select the above query to base your report on, and your label size (Avery No.).
3. Design and save your report (rptLabelSomeName).
4. Run your report. You can then include a cmdButton in your form to run it automatically.

If you want individual labels:
1. You can either copy and rename the above select query (or create a new one) and put your list of individuals in the criteria grid save and name it.
2. Open your report (rptLabelSomeName) and change the ControlSource to the new name - if you created a new one.
3. Run your report with just the individual names (from the criteria) printing.

The only problem with this is your individual names will always start in row 1 column 1 of your label sheet. I do remember seeing some coding the will allow you to choose what row and column you want to start the printing, but I can't put my eye sight on it right now. It's someplace on my computer. If and when I find it, I will try to post it to you or if you give me your email address, I will send it directly to you. You can email me directly to rraszk@direcway.com.

Richard - Retired computer instructor

by gm forsythe

I've found that adding a Boolean (Yes/No) field to a table is very handy. Then you can scroll through your table and check off the ones you want to include in a mailing or whatever. This is for those times when it is not easy to make a query but that you want to pick and choose according to some criteria not easily expressible in SQL, such as "Which of my friends do I want to send 'Happy St. Patrick's Day' cards to this year?" You can then base your label query on the value of the Boolean field. If you want to re-do the whole business, you can write an update query to change all values to No and then check off the ones to go with for the NEW list, such as "Who owes me money that I want to collect this month?"

by ibexscribe

I came across an interesting situation with Workgroup Templates, specifically in Word, but I would assume that the rest of the Office suite would experience the same issue. We have a rather complex network template system with folders and subfolders for departments and subunits within departments. To simplify our lives, we use shortcuts to other folders and shortcuts within folders to master copies of the templates so we only have to make changes in one location. As helpful as this is, I discovered that it can also cause some problems, some which we have solved and others which we have no idea how to solve.
*Beware of circular references! Word will open one level of subfolders under the main template folder. If the subfolder contains any shortcuts to other folders, Word will show the templates located in the folder for which there is a shortcut in addition to the templates in the said subfolder. This is great, unless the subfolder contains a shortcut to itself at any level. What then happens is Word will show multiple copies of the same template. I have seen 12 copies each of three templates in a tab for a folder that contained only three templates. Word may also show the same template 30+ times and not show any of the other templates in the folder. Word may also decide that it just doesn't like the circular reference and won't show any templates for that tab.
*Templates may not appear or may appear twice. This is still baffling to me and I can't find any information about what to do with the problem. For specific users, templates may appear twice in the same tab in Word when only one copy of the template is present in the folder. Has anyone come across this? I have not been able to figure out why it is happening. Other users are not able to see one or two templates, even if they are saved locally in the user template location. Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

by nondrakhali

I would really like to be able to select text and use a hotkey to put quotes or parens around it. Possible?

Nondra Khali
nondrakhali@grant.k12.ca.us

by wolfie x

You can create subprocedures with code similar to the following:

With Selection
.Text = """" & .Text & """"
.Collapse wdCollapseEnd
End With

With Selection
.Text = "(" & .Text & ")"
.Collapse wdCollapseEnd
End With

You could use Record Macro to create the procedures and assign hot keys, then clean up the code if you are comfortable doing so.

by atcollege

How about creating a macro to do each thing? Make sure it is a "global" macro and assign the macro to a keyboard combination, like Alt + )
I would assume that you need to select the text FIRST before trying to create the macro.

by david.hanshumaker

To make VLOOKUP pick the next higher value instead of the next lower value, insert a new column 2 into table h1:j10, so table is now h1:k10. Copy h2:h10 into i1:i9 and h10 into i10. This gives a second col whose values are offset by one row from the first col. Now, nest VLOOKUP into VLOOKUP into IF as follows:
=IF(VLOOKUP(A1,$H$1:$H$10,1) largest value in table.

by gm forsythe

When designing forms, Access defaults to showing Record Selectors and Dividing Lines. I forgot how to automatically delete these things, but I would like to know what, if any, purpose(s) they serve. I have always found them extremely annoying and unuseful.

Any responses would be helpful.

by el guapo

Go to the Form's property page. On the FORMAT tab, find the RECORD SELECTORS and DIVIDING LINES category and set them to NO. The Record Selectors are there so you know which record is on focus. Dividing Lines...who knows? I usually set these properties to NO anyway.

by gm forsythe

I know how to eliminate them from forms; I just can't remember how to set Access so that the DEFAULT is "No" to both these annoyances.

Thanks for your help.

George

by lamalcz

Make a blank form and set all of the default properties as you please. You may want to make at least two, one for Master and one for Sub forms.

Save them with a nice name like ZMaster and ZSub.

Now go to Tools:Options:Forms/Reports and make the Z... form the default template for forms. Be careful, make sure to change the default form when you switch from master to sub form creation.

by andeanderson

I am preparing to rebuild my system, to clear out some problems with my XP Pro and XP Office that have been adding up for the last couple of years, before installing the XP SP2.

I know that XP Pro uses a file, wpa.dbl, to store activation information and that by copying and then restoring this file I do not have to go through the Activation over the phone route with Microsoft.

Does XP Office also use such a file? If so, then what is it? I ask because the original Key Code was invalid and the people I got the system from had to give me a second Key Code to activate my Office XP. Unfortunately, due to my failing to file the information in the correct place, I cannot find the updated activation code.

Thanks

by mspatel

Please email me your answer as I have similar problem including Content Advisor not filtering rated sites.
mukesh111@hotmail.com

by lori

I know this is an easy question, but I am having a block. I have a pivot table with numbers like 3 digit codes in column A this code only display when it changes, 6 digit numbers in column B again this number only displays, and 4 digit account numbers in Column C. I need to put this information on another worksheet, on this worksheet I the 6 digit number column A, I already have the 3 digits code on every row in Column B and depending on the account number I need that is Column C or D. How do I write this?

by roybcarter

Recently many users have complained that images sent in email no longer open from Outlook. They have to save to HD before they can open the images. Is this a security feature or has something changed on their machines. We have a mix of Outlook 2000, XP, & 2003-not to mention MS Office for Mac of various flavors.

by gamber52

I have the same problem in sending animated gif in outlook. What I can do in extracting the gif from the mail and send it as attachment?
Xp sp2, office 2000.
Thank you for your support

by rchuch

In Outlook 2000 I could print attachment and Bcc information, However, in 2003 this information does not print. Can someone advise what has to be done to print this information.

by atcollege

Print an e-mail message and attachment

Select the messages you want to print.
How?

To select adjacent items (item: An item is the basic element that holds information in Outlook (similar to a file in other programs). Items include e-mail messages, appointments, contacts, tasks, journal entries, notes, posted items, and documents.), click the first item, and then hold down SHIFT and click the last item.
To select nonadjacent items, click the first item, and then hold down CTRL and click additional items.
To select all items, click the Edit menu, and then click Select All.
Note Changing the view (view: Views give you different ways to look at the same information in a folder by putting it in different arrangements and formats. There are standard views for each folder. You can also create custom views.) for items can make selecting specific items easier. For instance, if you want to select all messages that have the same subject, in the folder containing the messages, on the View menu, point to Arrange By, and then click Conversation. Select the messages you want from the view.

On the File menu, click Print.
To print attachments, select the Print attached files check box.
Note Attachments will print only to the default printer. For example, if you have printer A set as the default, and you open a message with an attachment and choose to print the e-mail to printer B, the message will be sent to printer B, but the attachment will go to printer A.

(Microsoft's Help is a wonderful thing!)

by rchuch

I guess I was unclear with my request. I understand how to access an attachment and print its contents, however, I am interested in having the attachment's file name that is displayed with an e-mail printed as well as the information in the bcc field printed when I print an individual e-mail message for my records. Both these pieces of information are not printed when I print an e-mail that contains these fields.

Thanks

by csdon47

Which is better to own and use Microsoft Works or Microsoft Word. I thought that Word came with my computer but I was surprised when the trial version ran out. Now I only have Works and it is different than Word.

by jerry~beans&bytes

Why do you think they gave you a demo of Word?

So that when your demo expired, and Works wouldn't do what you were used to doing, the way you were used to doing it, you would pay to get Word back.

by gwk

I run a very small business - no Exchange server, just POP3 to email accounts. I have two PCs and want to be able to use either to access emails - stored in the (local) PST file and download to it. I've tried sharing the PST file over a local network, but that corrupts the file (as it is the main Inbox/Outbox etc delivery location). Any ideas on how to sync the two files without ocrrupting them, so both PCs can have emails/contacts/tasks etc in sync?

by gwk

I have been using a public digital certificate provider, and downloading digital certificates (public + private) through IE to the user's PC. In all situations the installation is stated as complete and OK. On some PCs, that leads to Outlook being able to send digitally signed emails just fine (and then handle incoming encrypted emails), but on other PCs Outlook cannot find the private part of the certificate and so refuses to sign outgoing emails. On these PCs, going back to IE and trying to export the complete certificate also fails - the private part is apparently not available. I am looking for why this happens and how to fix it - the certificate provider won't permit multiple downloads (for obvious security reasons) so it gets expensive getting new certificates when the downloads have apparently worked OK but actually fail on the client device. Environment: Win2KPro, Outlook XP or 2K. Any thoughts welcome.

by foxfire2010

Whenever I records a Macro the floating "Stop Recording " toolbar does not pop up. Therefore I am unable to use the relative function when recording a Macro.

I have tried an activate and Repair - but that did not make any difference.
anybody have any suggestion, what I need to do in order to bring the toolbar back?
I am using Excel XP

by david.hanshumaker

That toolbar may no longer be meant to automatically pop up when recording a macro. To add it permanently to your standard toolbars, customize your toolbars. On the Toolbars tab in the pop-up box check the Stop Recording toolbar. When you close it will appear permanently on your toolbars above the worksheet.

by i,technician

We use the Microsoft Office apps for everything. I am looking for a good source that will explain how I can use individual apps together for more effective work, colaboration and communication. Any advice?

by jerry~beans&bytes

wow, that's a big question. some more info on where you are vs. where you want to be might help.

for instance (excuse me for subbing off your thread): I am a competent SQL guy, currently using M$ Access, and I have come to the point where I think I need to learn some Visual Basic to make my Access database app. do what I want it to do. I have some limited programming experience, but I am an accountant, not a programmer, and I'm too d*** old to change career paths.

Anybody know any reference materials that might help me?

p.s- i have this set up as a 250-point question under Programming in Technical Q&A section

by david.hanshumaker

When using Word 2002 the reviewing toolbar automatically pops up everytime I open or work in a document. I always have to go to View->toolbars and uncheck it. Does anyone know why this happens or how to prevent it? Can't say how annoying this is.

by jim l m

In writing I frequently must go back and put text in quotes. I do not thik this problem is unique to me. I am surprised that Microsoft has not come up with a 'highlight, enclose in quotes' command.

Are there any simple shortcuts to doing this other than inserting hte quotes and the appropriate punctuation?

by giboya

Hi,
Is there a way to sort a column in Excel that has cells that have a fill in color?
Thanks......

This discussion is closed to new replies.