Discussion Locked

Launch two separate excel windows

0 helpful
7 replies
Closed to new repliesThis discussion is closed. It stays readable, but it takes no new replies.
I have been trying to view two separate spread sheets in two separate excel windows. However when I open the second spreadsheet it will automatically launch in the existing excel window. I have changed the folder options in the control setting so that each folder will open in its own window.I have also set in the View options to launch folder windows in a separate process. Do you know of any settings in excel that would enable me to view the spreadsheets in separate windows (apart from the "Arrange Window" options). Also both files are quite large - could this be the problem!!! thanks

7 replies

by danprem

The simplest method is

1. Launch Excel by clicking on
Start -> Programs -> Microsoft Excel

2. Open the first File

3. Launch another instance of Excel by clicking on
Start -> Programs -> Microsoft Excel

This will openanother window

4. Open the second file on the second instance

by sorba

thanks but this is what I have been attempting to do,however the second excel window will launch in the already open window

by ann777

These instructions are specific to Excel XP (but may be similar in your version of Excel):

1) Open the workbooks you want to view.
To view multiple sheets in the active workbook, click New Window on the Window menu. Switch to the new window, and then click a sheet you want to view. Repeat for each sheet you want to view.

2) On the Window menu, click Arrange.

3) Under Arrange, click the option you want.
To view sheets in only the active workbook, select the Windows of active workbook check box.

---------

In your case... item 3 above, it sounds as if you already have that box checked. Uncheck it and you should automatically open documents in separate windows thereafter.

by danprem

If you are using Excel 2000 or later, the "Windows in Taskbar" checkbox in the "Views" tab in "Options" under the "Tools" menu (Tools -> Options -> Views -> windows in taskbar) must be ticked

This discussion is closed to new replies.